Review: Destined by Jessie Harrell

Review: Destined by Jessie Harrell

Goodreads Description:

When Psyche receives a prophecy gone horribly wrong, she learns that even the most beautiful girl in Greece can have a hideous future. Her fate? Fall in love with the one creature even the gods fear.
As she feels herself slipping closer into the arms of the prophecy, Psyche must choose between the terrifyingly tender touch she feels almost powerless to resist and the one constant she’s come to expect out of life: you cannot escape what is destined.

Destined is a fresh and heartachingly romantic retelling of the Cupid & Psyche myth from debut novelist, Jessie Harrell.

Why I picked it:

There are two main reasons why I wanted to read this book.

1. The cover completely caught my eye. I mean seriously. How gorgeous is it? It’s so evocative and romantic looking.  I don’t think they could have caught a more perfect picture for this cover. The soft hues and purples look so…relaxing.

2. Because I am infatuated with the legend of Psyche and Cupid (Eros).

I was lucky enough to go to Europe for my high school senior class trip. The trip was for 12 days and we got to go to England, France, Austria, Germany, and Switzerland. To me, the best part of the trip was when we got to go to the Louvre.

As I was wandering the castle, I passed through the sculpture area and this captured my attention:

That’s right. It’s THE Psyche and Eros. It was my favorite sculpture in the museum. I took a goofy picture with it (and no I won’t be posting it 😉 ) and I bought a print of it from the gift shop.

When I heard about this story I was immediately excited to pick it up and read.

Of course I had other books that needed my attention first, but this always was in the back of my mind.

What did I think?

It was really, really good. I loved all the Greek mythology in it. Psyche’s character was so easy to fall in love with. She had such a great personality and was willing to go through EVERYTHING for the ones she loved.

Eros was a kick in the pants. 😉 I loved him and he seemed so dreamy. Except when his temper got the best of him. His deep blue eyes and golden hair…*sighs*

This book was an easy read and was highly enjoyable. It is surely one I will read again. Jessie Harrell did a great job with story and I liked her own twist to it.

So I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

Now for a few snippets (this is my favorite part 😉 )

“I was alone with my crowd. Their constant, muted rumble played like the song of my heart. An endless rise and fall with no definition. Like a shape without sides. And though the sound pulsed and writhed to its own rhythm, the dullness made it feel unreal.”

“This was my life–all around me in this palace. My future was in these walls. Invisible servants, mostly-invisible suitor? Boyfriend? I didn’t even know what we were supposed to be to each other.”

“He might not have control over the waters, but the heat rolling off his body was strong enough to cross the space between us. As I met his eyes, his head dipped forward. My heart stuttered in my chest and my throat seemed to close tight. Was this fear or desire? His nose brushed mine as he leaned dangerously close and I felt his breath tease and tickle my lips.”

“Your love has wings, Psyche,” Hera said, waving he hand through the air and fluttering her fingers as she spoke.

13 thoughts on “Review: Destined by Jessie Harrell

  1. Oh wow! Ive had this one for a few weeks now, but I definitely need to read it. I love Greek Mythology, and am so glad that someone wrote about someone other than Hades & Persephone. I know nothing about Psyche and Eros.
    And Yay for putting quotes in your review. I’m a firm believer you.can convince someone to read a book based on a great quote!

Leave a Reply

