Review: Never to Sleep by Rachel Vincent

Never To Sleep by Rachel Vincent

Goodreads Description:

Don’t Close Your Eyes. 

Sophie Cavanaugh is not going to let her freak of a cousin’s strange psychiatric condition ruin high school for them both. Not after all the work she’s put into cultivating the right look, and friends, and reputation. But then, Sophie sees something so frightening she lets out a blood-curdling scream—and finds herself stuck in a bizarre parallel world where nothing is safe and deadly creatures lurk just out of sight, waiting for her to close her eyes and sleep…forever. 

Could this world be real? Or does insanity run in the family…?

Ok, so I’ve been wanting to read this since one of my twitter friends, Fiktshun, teased about it back in October. I have to be honest and say that I was totally jealous that she got to read it before ANYBODY else. But I have to say that the wait was so very worth it.

There was a little contest going on Rachel Vincent’s site as who can guess the POV. Sophie was not the one I would have picked. Sophie is known in the Soul Screamers series as being a person that every one kind of…..dislikes. She’s horribly mean to Kaylee and is selfish.

This book was a nice look into Sophie’s mind.

If you are new to my site and don’t really know who I am, let me tell you that Rachel Vincent is my all time favorite author so I might be a little bit biased in this review. Although I’ll try not to be.

As I mentioned earlier, Sophie wasn’t my first choice for the POV of this novella but I’m glad she was. Even though I don’t particularly like her, per say, this gave me a new perspective on her in the series.

This novella is totally action-packed and I could not stop reading. RV always has such a great way with words to make you feel like you’re in the story. I don’t want to put spoilers in my review in the off-chance that someone reading this hasn’t read If I Die yet.

**DO NOT READ NEVER TO SLEEP IF YOU HAVE NOT READ IF I DIE!!!!**

I liked seeing a different side to Sophie. It was really refreshing. You think she’s selfish when you read about her in the series but she’s more than a pretty face and (sometimes) snotty attitude. 😉

She pulls herself through a horrible experience and she does it by herself. It’s great that she found a new strength in herself that she never thought she had. It was a great feeling to be able to share with her. It made me understand her in a way I never did.

Now….to one of the high points of the story….Luca. Can I just say…Yum? 😉 He sounds absolutely divine and I can’t wait to see more of him in Before I Wake. He seems like the perfect fit for Sophie.

This short novella will hold me until Before I Wake….just barely though…just barely.

The whole Soul Screamers series is one of my favorite series and it’s almost painful enduring the wait between each book. 😉 Even though it seems like forever between each release, the wait is always worth it. Always.

I’m not going to venture too much into the details in this review since some haven’t read If I Die. Just trust me when I say that this is a must read! But only after If I Die 😉

Now for some quotes from the book (non-spoilery of course):

I laughed out loud. “Does it usually take blunt-force trauma for you to score a phone number?”

“I don’t even like regular plants. Except for corsages and long-stemmed roses.” And those only hurt when they don’t show up.

I stared at them for a second, while the angel and devil on my shoulders debated. If I gave him the gloves, he’s put his shirt back on. If I didn’t, he might get pricked if a thorn went through the material. In the end, my conscience won, but only because letting Luca die in the Netherworld would be an unacceptable waste of a perfectly good six-pack.

That was one of my favs 😉

So if you can’t tell I give this 5 of 5 stars. 🙂

Happy reading!

4 thoughts on “Review: Never to Sleep by Rachel Vincent

  1. Love this! I’m w/ you all the way, I think I’m gonna go bananas before BIW comes out! I swear, Rachel Vincent can write a book (or novella) like nobodg’s business!
    And Luca? Um…yes. More, please. He is a very welcome addition to the Soil Screamers world, in my opinion!
    Great review!

Leave a Reply

