Review: Switched by Amanda Hocking

Review: Switched by Amanda Hocking

Goodreads Description:

When Wendy Everly was six-years-old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. It isn’t until eleven years later that Wendy discovers her mother might have been right. With the help of Finn Holmes, Wendy finds herself in a world she never knew existed – a world both beautiful and frightening, and Wendy’s not sure she wants to be a part of it.

I won an advance readers’ edition off of Goodreads. I was really excited to read this.

I absolutely LOVE the cover. It looks so mysterious and dark. Not to mention that the story blurb sounded so interesting.

The story is about Wendy who had a pretty brutal upbringing. As mentioned in the blurb, her mother tried to kill her when she was little. That is so not something you can get over with right away.

Through out the entire book, my heart just kept breaking for Wendy. She had is rough for the whole book. I just wanted to slap some sense into some people. Grrr… LOL

I loved Wendy though. I loved how she would do anything to make her family happy and how much she loves them.

In the beginning, it seemed like everything was rushed a bit. Wendy had a lot of stuff going down in a short amount of time. I mean, A LOT. She had so much to take in and she did it with better courtesy than I would.

Elora was….hard to read sometimes. She was a hard woman who doesn’t show emotion to well I suppose. I’m sure there will be more to her than what meets the eye in the upcoming books.

I am a HUGE sucker for cute guys and let me tell you that this book had, like, 3 of them. 3!! Not too many books have that many. I was in my own personal heaven when these boys came into the picture.

Rhys was just too cute for words to say. He adored Wendy and I adored him in return.

Tove was hot in his own way. Even though he was somewhat ADD, he still sounded like a fine specimen of a guy πŸ˜‰

Then there is Finn. He is absolutely dream boat worthy. His fierce protectiveness for Wendy and the caring he shows towards her melts my heart.

I’m all for a forbidden love novel and this sounds like is almost has a couple. I’ll let you read it yourself to see what you think πŸ˜‰

Overall, I liked the different take on trolls or Trylle as it were in this book. New takes on old faery tales are always a soft spot for me. You get tired of reading the same old thing after a while.

It had plenty of action, some humor and a nice romance that starts to bloom. I’m very excited to read the next books in the series to see what happens. It does leave with a bit of a cliffhanger at the end so I might be a little impatient with it πŸ˜‰

I give it 4 of 5 stars.

A couple of my favorite quotes:

It wasn’t that I amused him; I sensed her was pleases with me. Like he had challenged me somehow and I had passed. My stomach did a stupid flip thing I had never felt before, and I swallowed hard, hoping to fight it back. “I look at you because I can’t look away,” Finn answered finally.

I was so close to him I could feel the delicious heat radiating from his body. His eyes were the darkest eyes I had ever seen, and they were looking at only me. For one unspoiled minute, everything in life felt perfect in a way that it never had before. Like there was a spotlight on us, the only two people in the world.

*heart melts* Happy reading!

7 thoughts on “Review: Switched by Amanda Hocking

      • I’m horrible at waiting! I’m so glad I already read them but I am re-buying them all again since now they have such pretty covers and an extra short story. They are all coming out pretty fast though so not too long of a wait. Torn Feb 28th and Ascend April 24th.

  1. I was so excited go read this one. Ive been hearing forever how awesome Amanda Hocking is. I did like this one well enough, the concept was very cool. I just couldn’t make a connection w/the characters. I did like the boys though. That Finn, he was super hot and Tove really ended up surprising me.
    I am interested to see what happens next.
    Great review!

  2. Okay, you asked for it! I have been virginal on your blog, cause it’s new, I dont want to scare away your readers..

    So Check it!

    Love the new covers… except here is my problem.. Too much red and orange.. this bitch looks like she lives in the tanning booth.. Shes all orange. but that’s not the worst of it…look at the back of her dress.. she got her monthly monster all over it…

    of course she probably claims it was just tanning oil like Christina Agul -la la la – however the fuck you spell it… Did you see that pic? she was all standing on stage, clearly period bloods dripping down her leg.. *gag*.. Plug that trench up woman!

Leave a Reply

