Review: Existence by Abbi Glines

Existence by Abbi Glines

Goodreads Description:

What happens when you’re stalked by Death? You fall in love with him, of course.

Pagan Moore doesn’t cheat Death, but instead, falls in love with him.

Seventeen year old Pagan Moore has seen souls her entire life. Once she realized the strangers she often saw walking through walls were not visible to anyone else, she started ignoring them. If she didn’t let them know she could see them, then they left her alone. Until she stepped out of her car the first day of school and saw an incredibly sexy guy lounging on a picnic table, watching her with an amused smirk on his face. Problem is, she knows he’s dead.

Not only does he not go away when she ignores him, but he does something none of the others have ever done. He speaks. Pagan is fascinated by the soul. What she doesn’t realize is that her appointed time to die is drawing near and the wickedly beautiful soul she is falling in love with is not a soul at all.

He is Death and he’s about to break all the rules.

I think the main thing that drew me to this book was the cover. I am a HUGE sucker for crazy looking covers and this is no exception. Although one of the reasons this drew my eye is because the guy in it looks strikingly familiar to Daemon in the book Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout. If you’ve read Obsidian you’ll know who I’m talking about. If you haven’t read it…..Read it. Now. 😉

Back to Existence. I liked the story line behind this book. It’s not every day that someone makes a book about Death. Sure, you have your reapers and vampires. But the big Kahuna Death? Not too many.

It almost reminded me of the movie Meet Joe Black. Brad Pitt made a good Death but Dank was….very Yumtastic. I don’t know what it is about a man that has dark hair and blue eyes but I seem to have a weakness for them in books.

The story features a girl named Pagan who can see souls. Which is sort of crazy for a teenager. She has her two best friends Wyatt and Miranda who are a wonderful addition to the book by the way. I really liked Pagan’s view on a lot of things. She cares about her friends and loves her mom.

Everything seems to be going the normal way when something horrific goes down and it completely changes Pagan’s life and her outlook.

She is a very strong girl in this book which I admire. I’m not too keen on simpering little misses that don’t stand up for what they believe in.

Dank and Pagan’s relationship is very intense to say the least. Whenever they were together, it made me yearn for more. This was an exciting first book in the trilogy. I can’t wait to see what happens next.

I give this 4 out of 5 stars.

Now for my favorite part…QUOTES!! Yay!

I knew I didn’t need to look at him but I couldn’t help it. I turned my head and peered at him through my hair. He was leaning against the locker beside mine with his arms crossed over his chest, watching me. No one had ever paid attention to me before to actually be able to describe my facial expression when I was bothered. It was oddly endearing.

“You aren’t just cute. Yes, you make cute faces and do cute things but you aren’t just cute.”

“I want you to be the girl I look for in the halls every morning and save a seat for in the cafeteria…I want you to be the one I pick up the phone to call just to make me smile.”

If you haven’t picked this one up, I suggest you do. It’s a good easy read with plenty intensity and mystery that will leave you wanting more. 🙂

Happy reading!

6 thoughts on “Review: Existence by Abbi Glines

  1. Abbi certainly knows how to write chemistry, doesn’t she?! What did you think about the last sentence? I was dying b/c I really liked Leif.
    Love your quotes. Great review!

    • Ummm…the last line frustrated me to no end. What a cliffhanger! Dangit. I want to read the next one!
      Abbi does know how to write chemistry for sure! I want my very own Dank. No matter that he’s Death. I want one!

      • I so need to read World War Z before the movie comes out. I love Max Brooks and can’t bveeile I haven’t read it yet. Omg, and I just finished Pretty When She Dies… oh man, serious love.

  2. I’ve had this one on my TBR list and like you the reason I added it was the cover. Love that cover. But that couple is loved because they are on a billion covers. LOL By the way I love your stars that you used. I am so deadbeat that I still just pick random pics as my rating cause I could never commit to anything specific to use for my ratings. I was thinking of using black glitter stars but I have commitment issues.

    • LOL I got those stars for free on Parajunkeedesign.com. She designs webstie for blogs and authors. I was hoping to see if she’ll design my blog but money is tight. She has a coupld freebies on her site.

      • Oh cool! I know I would also love a custom blog design but can’t find the excuse to really spend money on it. And I’m super broke right now and like to spend money on giveaways and more fun things. Some day I probably will but for now I I’ll just go with what I got. I’m so horrible at computer stuff that I can’t do much in the way of graphic designs. It took me a month just to get my plain design going LOL I get really frustrated with computer stuff and have to talk my brother into helping me cause he is a genius at that type of stuff.

Leave a Reply

