Review: My Soul to Lose by Rachel Vincent

My Soul to Lose by Rachel Vincent

Goodreads Description:

It was supposed to be a fun day, shopping at the mall with her best friend. Then the panic attack started and Kaylee Cavanaugh finds herself screaming, unable to stop. Her secret fears are exposed and it’s the worst day of her life.

Until she wakes up in the psychiatric unit.

She tries to convince everyone she’s fine–despite the shadows she sees forming around another patient and the urge to scream which comes burbling up again and again. Everyone thinks she’s crazy. Everyone except Lydia, that is. Another patient with some special abilities….

I first read this book back when it just came out. I mean RIGHT when it came out. I haven’t read it since. I’ve been meaning to re-read this entire series because it’s one of my favorites. Rachel Vincent is my all time favorite author. She’s the reason I went into paranormal and urban fantasy.

It’s really kind of great to re-read these books after so long because I get to go through all the emotions I felt when I read it the first time.

I have to say….it’s better the second time around. 😉

Like I said above, I’ve been meaning to re-read this series but a lot of other awesome books have gotten my attention and I kept putting it off.

My blogger friend Rachel over at Fiktshun.com thought of the fabulous idea to have a Soul Screamers Reading Challenge. It’s mainly to promote the newest addition to the whole series Before I Wake. But it gives a lot of readers the push they need to read or, in my case, re-read the series for fun (and for prizes *wink*).

It was the push I needed to get me to read these again.

After I re-read My Soul to Lose today, I almost felt like I was falling in love with Kaylee all over again. This prequel is such the perfect start to this entire series. You don’t know what’s going to happen or what actually is happening. You’re just as out of the loop as Kaylee is. It makes it that much better.

Even though it’s been a while since I’ve read this prequel, I still felt every heart wrenching emotion Kaylee did in it. My heart broke over and over again for her when she wakes up all alone and doesn’t know where she is.

Everything she goes through seems so real that you can imagine yourself being her. Being there. Seeing those white walls, hearing the screams…it’s crazy.

This is the perfect start to this series. Rachel Vincent never lets up on the action or inrtigue in any of her novels. This is just a small sample of what RV can do ;-).

Quotes:

The reality was probably much less far-fetched, but just as scary: I was trapped. Helpless, and exposed, and vulnerable. And suddenly I couldn’t breathe. Couldn’t make my heart stop racing.

I personally didn’t care is Sophie danced in the nude. In fact, the life experience might open up some interesting career opportunities for her someday. (hehe)

 

 

 

One thought on “Review: My Soul to Lose by Rachel Vincent

Leave a Reply

