Review: Destiny’s Fire by Trisha Wolfe

Destiny’s Fire by Trisha Wolfe

Gooodreads Description:

It’s the year 2040, and sixteen-year-old Dez Harkly is one of the last of her kind—part of a nearly extinct race of shape-shifters descended from guardians to the Egyptian pharaohs. Her home and her secret are threatened when the Council lowers the barrier, allowing the enemy race to enter the Shythe haven.

As the Narcolym airships approach, Dez and her friends rebel against their Council and secretly train for battle. Not only is Dez wary of war and her growing affection for her best friend Jace, but she fears the change her birthday will bring. When Dez’s newfound power rockets out of control, it’s a Narcolym who could change her fate… if she can trust him.

Dez’s guarded world crumbles when she discovers why the Narcos have really come to Haven Falls, and she’s forced to choose between the race who raised her and the enemy she’s feared her whole life.

Why did I pick this?

Reading around Twitter, I heard so much about Trisha Wolfe and her debut novel. Most of my twitter friends had read this and raved about it. I traveled over to my good friend Andrea’s blog The Bookish Babes where she was hosting a blog tour. I read her review and wanted to read it myself.

Not only that but as I’ve said in many of my other posts, I’m a sucker for great covers. This cover is amazing! The girl is so gorgeous even with the goofy goggles 😉 The bright colors just draw the eye and everything flows so well. I ❤ it!

Sooooooo…..What did I think?

Ummmm…..Definately a keeper. 😉 I really really REALLY enjoyed this book. Everything was non-stop. The romance, the action, the deception, EVERYTHING. I fell in love with all the characters as well.

Wolfe has a way with words to make you feel like you are actually seeing these hover bikes and steamships just chilling in the background. Even with all the drama, it sounded like such an interesting place to be.

I said there was action, right? Yes….yes there definitely was. You never really knew which way Wolfe was going to take you. I loved every second of it. I love a book that always keeps you guessing and this does exactly that.

I also said that there is romance. There are TONS of hot scenes with two exceptionally hot guys. I will say that I am a Jace fan more than Reese though. I think it’s because I’m a huge fan of the name Jace and I’m pretty partial to it. 🙂

This was a really great book with just the right amount of steampunk. I’ve never really read too many steampunk books. This was probably my first one. I liked it a lot. 🙂 I’m excited to not only read more steampunk but more Trisha Wolfe.

Wolfe really knows how to capture your attention and completely hold it hostage.

As far as a main character, Dez is perfect. She is everything I look for when I read books. Spunk, snark, sass and she can defend herself and kick your a** if she deems it. (I will admit that I did not know her full name was the main title. Yes….I am a goob 😉 )

Dez is very smart and very very compassionate. There isn’t too many things that get on my nerves but a simpering girl main character totally turns me off. I like to read about strong, independent women who take care of themselves. Dez does exactly that. She has a great personality and I love her.

I’m really really glad that I grabbed this book. I don’t think I would have seen this book without the use of Twitter. So many of my tweeps read this book and told me I needed to read it ASAP. I’m so glad I did!

Quote time!!! YAY!

For a moment I was shocked-unable to move. His touch sent shivers rippling over my skin as his eyes held mine. His weight bearing down on me felt intimate. His face hovered above mine, but then he moved in, lowering… *fans self*

He smiled. “Say that again.”

“What?”

“My name.” He leaned forward and traced his finger across my jawline. “You’ve never said it before. Sounds sexy when you do.”

Special thanks to my good friends Jaime at Two Chicks on Books and Andrea at The Bookish Babes for telling me to read this. Thank you for another great recommendation! I adore you both!

5 thoughts on “Review: Destiny’s Fire by Trisha Wolfe

  1. I just found this review. Destiny’s Fire is one of my favourites! And I’m glad you are more of a Jace girl, because then I can have Reese all to myself 😉
    Great Review!

Leave a Reply

