Review: The Future of Us by Jay Asher & Carolyn Makler

The Future of Us by Jay Asher & Carolyn Makler

Goodreads Description:

It’s 1996, and Josh and Emma have been neighbors their whole lives. They’ve been best friends almost as long – at least, up until last November, when Josh did something that changed everything. Things have been weird between them ever since, but when Josh’s family gets a free AOL CD in the mail,his mom makes him bring it over so that Emma can install it on her new computer. When they sign on, they’re automatically logged onto their Facebook pages. But Facebook hasn’t been invented yet. And they’re looking at themselves fifteen years in the future.
By refreshing their pages, they learn that making different decisions now will affect the outcome of their lives later. And as they grapple with the ups and downs of what their futures hold, they’re forced to confront what they’re doing right – and wrong – in the present.

Why did I pick it?

Well…I saw the blurp for it from one of my friend’s blogs fiktshun.com and she had a link to read the first chapter on facebook.

After that first chapter I wanted to read more. I finished this entire book in about a day.

What did I think?

For a good amount of the book, I was pretty nostalgic. Flashbacks and memories of my own kept swimming in my brain as I was reading.

This whole book is a really unique take on time-travel and finding yourself. I liked how I got to read from both Josh and Emma’s point of view. It’s always funny to see both sides. Especially when one’s a guy and the other is a girl. They are such different perspectives it makes me smile. 🙂

I thought the overall book was really good. Like I mentioned above, I read this in about a day. I couldn’t stop reading. It was addicting to say the least.

This was one of those feel-good books for me. Whenever Emma or Josh mentioned something from 1996 I just couldn’t help but smile.

I’m also a huge sucker for the kind of stories that involve a couple that have known each other since they were little littles. It makes my heart happy. There’s just something about that type of relationship that makes it extra special.

I loved Emma and Josh together throughout the entire book. Even though they would get mad at each other, it would never last long. They know each other way too well and care about each other too much.

One of the biggest things I liked about this book is how they both discover something about themselves they never knew before. It’s always enlightening (to say the least) when you learn something new about yourself.

It’s really a great read and I suggest you read it soon. If you just want to kick back, put on some Dave Matthews band or Green day, and read a good book. This is your ticket!

Quote***Quote***Quote***

“And what if in the future we’re at war again, or we still haven’t elected a non-white or non-male president, or the Rolling Stones are still dragging their tired old butts on stage? That would depress me way too much.” 

“How can you call it love when it hurt you so badly?” 

“It was love because it was worth it.” 

“Why would anyone say this stuff about themselves on the Internet? It’s crazy!” 

“Why does it say she has three hundred and twenty friends?” Josh asks. “Who has that many friends?” 

6 thoughts on “Review: The Future of Us by Jay Asher & Carolyn Makler

  1. “Why does it say she has three hundred and twenty friends?” Josh asks. “Who has that many friends?”

    haha this quote cracked me up! You would think that though probably if you looked at facebook that long ago.

    I was at the library today and saw this and was planning to grab it on my way out. But then on my way out it was already gone! Well I’ll have to pick it up some other time. I like the idea of looking at your facebook in the future. I’m also with you in LOVING relationships that have been going on since the characters were kids. So cute. I think I always wished I had that but never did. 😦

  2. I really want to read this book! I graduated in 1996 (read: I am old!) and I have so many memories from that year. I can’t believe how much the world has changed. I used the internet for the first time that year and thought it was complete BS! I’m so glad you loved it!
    Great review!

Leave a Reply

