Review: My Soul To Take by Rachel Vincent

My Soul To Take by Rachel Vincent

Goodreads Description:

She doesn’t see dead people. She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who’ll be next.

Why did I pick it?

First of all, I’ve read this once already. I’ve read the entire series once already. I mainly started the series again because of Fiktshun’s Soul Screamers Reading Challenge (for info click HERE). I’ve honestly been meaning to re-read this series anyways because it’s been a while and I forgot some things (my bad ;-)). The reading challenge was just the push I needed to start it up. And let. me. tell. you….

What did I think?

Completely awesome the second time around. I thought that I might not enjoy these as much by reading them the second time but….dammit it’s even better the second time. I forgot how much of an absolute dreamboat Nash is. He is just sooo…..*swoons* There are just no words right now….

Moving on… 😉

Even though I know ALL about what’s going to happen in the upcoming books, I still can’t get over how surprised I still am when I’m reading the book. Kaylee is such a strong person (much stronger than I am….I’m a wimp). Nash is the perfect match for her in this book.

Now let’s talk about some of the other characters in this book…..

Kaylee’s dad Aiden. At first you think that he’s just this no-show of a dad who abandoned his only daughter. For selfish reasons at that. But when he finally enters the picture, you see such a difference and realize he loves her like no other. He had his reasons (not that I agree with all of them). But it all comes down to how much he truly does care about Kaylee. It shows.

Uncle Brendon: He is a sweet man who tries to look for the best in the situation and take care of things. He cares about Kaylee too but in an objective sort of way. Yes he loves her but sometimes it feels like he’s at a loss of what to do with her. Don’t get me wrong, he’s a great man. He just seems lost when it came to Kaylee.

Sophie: Self-centered but I think she has a soft spot for Kaylee. They don’t get along really well because….well….Sophie’s Aunt Val and Uncle Brendon’s daughter so she got spoiled. Whereas Kaylee…errr..didn’t ;-). She’s a snob LOL

Aunt Val: Ummm….in this book and in the first, I didn’t care for her. I really didn’t. Very materialistic and self absorbed. There were times when I straight up wanted to smack her a few times. Like I mentioned above…Kaylee’s stronger than I would be (in all kinds of situations).

Emma: The. perfect. best. friend. EVER! I love her humor and she’s so perfect for Kaylee.

Nash: *bats eyes* *swoons* He so sweet with Kaylee and a real hottie. He sounds absolutely yummy. Totally. He cares for Kaylee and is willing to support her no matter what.

Tod: Not a lot to really go on in this book. He comes off as a jerk and almost a creeper LOL. Still…he sounds just as dreamy as Nash

Harmony: Such a mom 😉 I loved her and her baking. She’s so sweet I wanted to bundle her up and take her home.

On a side note…

As I’ve also mentioned above, I have read all the other books up to If I Die. So I know more about what happens to whom and what doesn’t happen.

I’m trying to re-read these as if I’m reading these for the first time, which it almost is technically. Like I said….it’s been a while. I have to say, re-reading these after so long is ahhhh-mazing. I love every second and every word. I devour these pages like they were my last and enjoy every minute of it.

I can’t wait to re-read the next one and do my review.

QUOTES

Nash took my free hand in his, and I forgot whatever I’d seen. He pushed my hair back from my right ear. I couldn’t understand most of what he whispered to me, but I gradually came to realize that his actual words weren’t important. What mattered was his proximity. His breath on my neck. His warmth melting into mine. his scent surrounding me. His voice swirling in my head, insulating me from the scream still ricocheting against my skull.

“She also told us not to drink.” Emma rolled her big brown eyes. “If she really meant that, she wouldn’t have snuck us into a bar.” That was Emma-logic, all right. The longer you thought about it, the less sense it made.

Crap. He was actually crying. I didn’t know how to deal with a crying father. I barely knew how to deal with a normal one.

5 thoughts on “Review: My Soul To Take by Rachel Vincent

  1. Dude, I love Harmony.. I wish my mom would bake like her. But my parents are smokers.. Once, she baked a shit load of cookies for a couple of my friends for christmas. She put them in bins.. and had me hand them out.. Um, yeah.. they tasted like chocolate chip ash trays… No joke. you could barely taste the cookie.

    *shudders*

    Disclaimer… if you smoke, I’m totally okay with that.. just don’t send me baked goods.. Ever. lol

    Loving these books, I just had to take a break from book three so I can read shift.. Which I should be doing now, but instead I was just outside lovingly staring at the interior of the car.

    • Bahaha!! No I don’t smoke. So I can send you cookies any time I want 😉 Good to know.

      Yea yea on your new car. I told you I’m jealous! Stop rubbing my nose in it! LOL j/k

      I lurve you April. 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

