Review: One For The Money by Janet Evanovich

One For The Money by Janet Evanovich

Goodreads desciption:

Welcome to Trenton, New Jersey, home to wiseguys, average Joes, and Stephanie Plum, who sports a big attitude and even bigger money problems (since losing her job as a lingerie buyer for a department store). Stephanie needs cash–fast–but times are tough, and soon she’s forced to turn to the last resort of the truly desperate: family.

Stephanie lands a gig at her sleazy cousin Vinnie’s bail bonding company. She’s got no experience. But that doesn’t matter. Neither does the fact that the bail jumper in question is local vice cop Joe Morelli. From the time he first looked up her dress to the time he first got into her pants to the time Steph hit him with her father’s Buick, M-o-r-e-l-l-i has spelled t-r-o-u-b-l-e. And now the hot guy is in hot water–wanted for murder.

Abject poverty is a great motivator for learning new skills, but being trained in the school of hard knocks by people like psycho prizefighter Benito Ramirez isn’t. Still, if Stephanie can nab Morelli in a week, she’ll make a cool ten grand. All she has to do is become an expert bounty hunter overnight–and keep herself from getting killed before she gets her man.

Why did I pick this one?

Well….to be honest. I wanted to read the book before I saw the movie. I wanted to see the movie because it looked cute and a bit funny. I have this OCD problem to where I NEED to read a book before I watch the movie it was made after. So I cheated and took a mini vacation to read this one for fun.

I heard that this series was good from my mom (ya I know I know…). But she’s cool beans I swear. 😉

Then I heard that it was being made into a movie. Then the movie preview came out and it looked kinda funny. Like a cute romantic-mystery-comedy thing. So I picked up the book….and read it all in one day.

So what did I think?

It wasn’t what I expected. Like I mentioned above, I thought it would be cutesy. It was…some of the time. But it was pretty hardcore as far as the crime stuff goes. I won’t go into too much detail on here but you’ll have to read it to see.

There were some funny lines that Stephanie lets loose. I liked her personality. She was a very independent likeable character. I liked her a lot.

Joe was definately swoon worthy in my book. Any guy that has that much swag in his step is a generally hot guy in my book. The more swag, the hotter he is.

The whole story had really good twists and turns that kept the plot thickening. I thought it really was a good story and I’ll be reading the rest of them.

I think one of the best parts about reading this book is because it was set in the early 90s so the clothing style is hilarious. Spandex shorts, hoop earings, reebok hightops, and cherry red glow in the dark lipstick. Oh man…I can only imagine. I was literally laughing out loud on that tidbit.

The scenes in this were really fun to read. I loved pretty much everything about it. The gritty heat, the people…everything.

I loved the interaction between Joe and Stephanie. Their banter is so funny is had me grinning and giggling.

I really really enjoyed this book and I’m sure that the rest will be just as good. They’re a pretty quick and easy read which is good for a mini vacation.

Let me make this point…the crime and sinisterness is this book is VERY crazy and a bit hardcore. This isn’t cute and fuzzy crime…it’s pretty dirty.

Favorite Quotes:

Just the career move I’d been hoping for-filing for Vinnie. Of all my relatives, Vinnie was my least favorite. Vinnie was a worm, a sexual lunatic, a dog turd. “What does he pay?” I asked.

This is no big deal, I told myself. Nothing to worry about…only a criminally insane, two-hundred-and-fifty pound man standing in the hall, calling me names.

Morelli grinned. “You’re a marshmellow. Soft and sweet and when you get heated up you go all gooey and delicious.”

3 thoughts on “Review: One For The Money by Janet Evanovich

  1. I recently started this series as well. My co-worker always recommends books to me and this author is her favorite. So I decided to finally give them a go! Especially since I knew there were already like 18 out. I think? I have only read the first three so far but I have up to somewhere around 14 on my shelves. I got them all at an awesome used book sale for 50 cents each. I love Joe and Stephanie! They have great banter and sexual tension. You reminded me I really need to pick up and start number 4.

Leave a Reply

