Review: Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

Goodreads Description:

Just your average boy-meets-girl, girl-kills-people story. . .

Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead. 

So did his father before him, until his gruesome murder by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. Together they follow legends and local lore, trying to keep up with the murderous dead—keeping pesky things like the future and friends at bay. 

When they arrive in a new town in search of a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas doesn’t expect anything outside of the ordinary: move, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, but now stained red and dripping blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home. 

And she, for whatever reason, spares his life.

 

Why did I pick it?

The cover. Just look at it. It looks so creepy and gorgeous. I HAD to have my hands on it. Just HAD to! This has to be one of my favorite covers so far. It instantly made me want to read it. Rachel over at Fiktshun actually gifted this to me for helping her out with the YA Sisterhood Tourney. So I was really excited to start this.

What did I think?

LOVED it. The first chapter was….whoa. I was completely freaked out. I’ve never read a ghost story before. This is so much more than I was expecting. I mean, I was expecting it to be good. But this had the wow factor. I was completely freaked out for more of the book.

There was so much good stuff going on that I was so not expecting.

I absolutely loved Anna. Oh my goodness she was so freaking badass.  She sounded so creepy and crazy in the beginning. But so…gorgeous. I’m not sure how to really explain it. Even when she was all crazy Anna with the black pupils and black veins, I was still so drawn to her.

Cas was an instant love for me as well. He had a great sense of humor and a great personality. I’m not usually a fan of reading books from a guy’s point of view…..cuz…awkward 😉 But this was a great book. I liked seeing his side of the story and his point of view.

There was a lot of action, suspense, and gore in here. I loved every page of it. I’ve never been creeped out by a book before so this was great. I loved the detail that went into every character. It made everything come to life…..or death….whatever the case may be 😉

I was surprised by the romance in this. I didn’t know there would be any at all in it. Even though I was surprised, I still liked it. I liked the idea of a unlikely pair falling in love. I can’t wait to see how it progresses.

I can’t really say too much because of spoilers so let me just finish with these three words: Anna. Is. Epic.

Go get your copy or if you want to trade, I’m up for that too. Just hit me up via twitter and we’ll work it out. Everyone should have the chance to read this amazing story and fall in love with it like I did.

Quotes:

They’d made the decision to pick up a hitchhiker, and they weren’t about to let themselves be scared into going back on it. They rationalized their fears away. People shouldn’t do that.

Slamming doors and smashing plates. Anna is acting like a common poltergeist. How embarassing.

I’ve seen most of what there is to be afraid of in this world, and to tell you the truth, the worst of them are the ones that make you afraid of the light. The things that your eyes plainly see and can’t forget are worse than huddled black figures left to the imagination. Imagination has a poor memory; it slinks away and goes blurry. Eyes remember for much longer

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

  1. OMG, girl, my review for this book was scheduled today also. Book twins! I had the same reaction you did: epic. That’s pretty much the best word to describe it. I loved Anna & Cas so much it was one of the rare times I was actually rooting for insta-love!

  2. Ooh, I’ve heard so many amazing things about this book. You should check out April’s teaser trailer. I used it in a giveaway. It was short, but so darn creepy! I actually have this one, but haven’t made the time to read it yet. I can’t wait, especially after reading this review.
    Great review, Hackaroo!

Leave a Reply

