Review: Dearly Departed by Lia Habel

Dearly Departed by Lia Habel

Goodreads Description:

Love can never die.

Love conquers all, so they say. But can Cupid’s arrow pierce the hearts of the living and the dead—or rather, the undead? Can a proper young Victorian lady find true love in the arms of a dashing zombie?

The year is 2195. The place is New Victoria—a high-tech nation modeled on the manners, mores, and fashions of an antique era. A teenager in high society, Nora Dearly is far more interested in military history and her country’s political unrest than in tea parties and debutante balls. But after her beloved parents die, Nora is left at the mercy of her domineering aunt, a social-climbing spendthrift who has squandered the family fortune and now plans to marry her niece off for money. For Nora, no fate could be more horrible—until she’s nearly kidnapped by an army of walking corpses.

But fate is just getting started with Nora. Catapulted from her world of drawing-room civility, she’s suddenly gunning down ravenous zombies alongside mysterious black-clad commandos and confronting “The Laz,” a fatal virus that raises the dead—and hell along with them. Hardly ideal circumstances. Then Nora meets Bram Griswold, a young soldier who is brave, handsome, noble . . . and dead. But as is the case with the rest of his special undead unit, luck and modern science have enabled Bram to hold on to his mind, his manners, and his body parts. And when his bond of trust with Nora turns to tenderness, there’s no turning back. Eventually, they know, the disease will win, separating the star-crossed lovers forever. But until then, beating or not, their hearts will have what they desire.

Why did I pick it?

I really really liked the cover. It’s one of my favorites. Then I read the blurb and I was hooked in. It sounded like such an interesting story it pricked my curiosity.

So what did I think?

This one was a little hard for me. I’ve never read a zombie novel before this one. I have a few in my Fire but haven’t read them yet. So this was my first zombie novel.

For some reason, it was hard for me to get into. It wasn’t until I was about halfway when I started to get into it. Don’t get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It just took me a minute to really feel the book. Once I got into it, I couldn’t put it down.

I really really loved the characters. All of them. Even the bad guys. Because you have to have the bad guys in a story for it to truly be a story. 😉

Nora was a very relatable character. I liked her passion and her true emotion. I felt everything that she went through. If it broke her heart, it broke mine. I also loved her bravery in the face of morbid times. She learns so much and handles herself very admirably. I liked her a lot. I liked how she had a mind of her own and did what she wanted to do despite what society had to say about it.

Pamela was an exciting addition. She had one of those great personalities that was destined for greatness. She is on the brink of something big and I think she is just so special. Her loyalty to her family even after what had happened to her was awesome. Her relationship with Nora was one of my most favorite parts in this book. It was so special. It melted my heart. Also, Pamela was pretty badass.

Bram had to be my most favorite character in this book. His bravery, passion and outlook were just so remarkable. He is very special. Very. He was so cute too. 😉 His interaction with Nora was so great. I liked being inside of his head. He thought a different way and it was so awesome.

Now to the overall story…

I really liked the concept of when the story is. I liked the idea of the New Victorian age with technology. It was a great mix of new and old ways. It was interesting reading about the Victorian dresses and carriages with the technology of digi-diaries and TV’s.

I also liked how the zombies were originally “made”. I don’t want to put any spoilers so I won’t expand. You’re going to have to read it yourself to find out the big mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

I think I went into this book with a very open mind. It was my first zombie novel and overall I wasn’t disappointed. It just took me a little longer to really get into it. I’m not sure if it was the explanation of everything or how it was written that threw me off for the first half. But after Nora and Bram meet, it made it that much better.

There was a lot of action, suspense, romance, humor, and intrigue. This book had it all. I just found most of it to be in the last half and it seemed a bit rushed in parts.

I’m very excited to read the next book in the series. It will be a wonderful read.

Favorite Quotes:

I could think of a lot of things I’d have liked to say to her, though. I made plenty of dead man’s promises to her in my mind, as the boys shoveled coal beneath us and the boat made like a ghost for friendlier shores.

I gave her as long as she needed, all the while mentally designing my tombstone. R.I.P., Captain Abraham R. Griswold. He was completely useless and made girls cry.

Ren pointed to another wooden crate. “You two sit there, and try not to touch anything.” Chas considered this, and informed him, “You know, when you say that, it just makes me want to touch things more.”

I received a copy of this from NetGalley for an honest review

4 thoughts on “Review: Dearly Departed by Lia Habel

  1. Yes yes yes. I had pretty much the same feelings as you did, right up to how it took me a while to get into it.

    If you’re going to read more zombie novels make sure you put Ashes on the list. Looooved that one.

  2. I have not read this one yet.. I like the cover though.. I have however read zombie books.. I read the Carrie Ryan Forest of Hands and Teeth ones.. I loved those books soooo friggen much.. Every zombie book I pick up, has a huge bar to jump over. Sadly, the last one I read didn’t quite make make it over. lol

    I’ve never read one where the zombie was depicted as sexy.. so that will be interesting. I plan to try this one, just not sure when I’ll get to it.. one of these days.

    Lovely review as always.. you make sunbeams fly from my asshole. <—- that's a good thing.. burns those nasty unreachable hairs away. J/k. I'm strange.

Leave a Reply

