Review: Shadows by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Shadows by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Goodreads Description:

The last thing Dawson Black expected was Bethany Williams. As a Luxen, an alien life form on Earth, human girls are…well, fun. But since the Luxen have to keep their true identities a secret, falling for one would be insane. Dangerous. Tempting. Undeniable. 

Bethany can’t deny the immediate connection between her and Dawson. And even though boys aren’t a complication she wants, she can’t stay away from him. Still, whenever they lock eyes, she’s drawn in. Captivated. Lured. Loved. 

Dawson is keeping a secret that will change her existence…and put her life in jeopardy. But even he can’t stop risking everything for one human girl. Or from a fate that is as unavoidable as love itself.

Why did I pick it?

Well in December, I read Obsidian and I absolutely LOVED it. Daemon is seriously swoontastic to me. Even though he can be an a**, he’s still really hot. So….needless to say I was obsessed.

I stalk Jennifer L. Armentrout’s blog regularly. She is not only an awesome author but an awesome person as well. So stop by her blog and see what’s up because she always has something going on.

Now that I’ve rambled on about Jennifer, I’ll get back to Daemon. I fell in love with him and Katy in Obsidian. So when I heard about the requel novella about his brother, Dawson, I was practically salivating for the book.

So what did I think?

I have one word and one word only for this book…..WOW.

I’ll start off with the characters. If you loved Daemon in Obsidian,  you will absolutely loooooooooooove Dawson. I mean seriously. He was everything Daemon is and so much more. He is what every girl dreams of.

Bethany was so adorable! I loved reading about her and getting to know her. She is so very special. She had a great personality and was a wonderful addition to this book.

Daemon is his same old self…..tall, dark, and broody. I wanted to eat him up.

Dee is cute as always. It would be cool to get a novella from her perspective. Especially on what she thinks about Adam.

I did find that I hated Ash and Andrew a little bit more in this book. They were awful.

Now for the story….

It was so awesome to get a different view on the characters from Obsidian. I loved it.

There was plenty of action, suspense, romance (a lot of this actually), and sadly….heartbreak. Even though I had an idea of what was going to happen, it still slapped me in the face when it did happen. You’ll understand what I mean when you read it.

This book was what I expected and more. Everything was so great. I think the best part that I loved about it was that it was from both points of view.

It was also really awesome to read about the DOD and learn more about the Luxen life and community. It was really refreshing to see things from a different perspective too.

So all in all this book was…..EPIC. For me at least. I seriously can’t wait to see what Jennifer has up her sleeve for the next book.

Favorite Quote(s):

He winked, and damn is it wasn’t sexy. Not skeevy at all or stupid looking. It was the kind of wink that movie stars did on the screen. Something no on in real life could pull off.

“Have I told you how beautiful you are?” he asked, voice deep and husky. “No.” But he really didn’t have to. She could tell by the way he looked at her, and that was better than any pretty words.

**Please keep the lookout! I’m gonna have a guest review on here in a couple days!**

3 thoughts on “Review: Shadows by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Hi, twinsie!

    First off, I lurve that cover. Did you see JLA’s interview w/the cover models from the Lux series? They’re engaged in real life!!!

    I do plan to read this at done point. It’s just, I know how it ends. And that gives me The Sadz.

    I’m glad Dawson isn’t as big of a jerk as Darmon can be. Although…this explains A LOT about Daemon’s demeanor.

    Great review!

Leave a Reply

