Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins Goodreads description:

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister Primrose, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister’s place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before — and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that will weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

Why did I pick it?

I mainly picked this up for two reasons. 1. Because the movie is coming out and I have this weird necessity to read the book before they make it into a movie. I know it’s a bad thing to do because the movie almost ALWAYS makes it worse. But….it’s a compulsive thing. 2. Because I heard it was really good. I wasn’t completely sure what the whole thing was about but I’ve heard great things about it and my cousin bought it for me (which was really sweet), and so there you have it. What did I think? I’m actually honestly have to say I’m torn about this one. I hate to say it, but I’m not exactly a big fan >_< . I know, I know…it’s sad really. I really, really wanted to like this book a lot. So I can be really, really excited to see the movie. I am excited though….just not THAT excited.

What did I think?

I will say this: the book had a really great entertainment value to it. I liked the excitement and suspense throughout. I really loved Katniss. I truly did. She had such a ruthless passion for her family and throughout the games. She kicked hard ass. I loved her for staying true to herself and fighting for what she loved. I probably wouldn’t have been able to do some of the things she did in there. I admired her for that.

Peeta was a very likeable character as wel. I’m curious to see what happens in the next books. (yes I will be reading them all….) I was never really sure how to read him in the book. Especially the way Katniss describes him in her thoughts and with her thought process. He’s still a question mark for me right now.

I have to say I really fell in love with Rue. Which broke me heart. And if you’ve read the book, you’ll know why.

Now it might have been me, but I just couldn’t get over the whole depression looming in this book. I might be the only one but, it was so hard to overlook things in there that were just so heartbreaking it made my stomach clench.

The whole idea of The Hunger Games was totally despicable but what made it so sad, is that it could be a possibility in the future. Which made it even more sad to me. That was my biggest feat for this book.

Overall I enjoyed it, but it’s not a favorite of mine. I’ll still go see the movie because, like I said earlier, this has a really big entertainment value. It has plenty of action and some love. But it makes you wonder where the love is directed because Katniss has very confusing thoughts at times on what is going through her brain.

If you loved this book, then I’m sorry I didn’t like it that much. Some books are just not for some people. I wanted to really like it. I went into it with an open mind. I’ll still read the entire series because it was a good enough book to make me want to read it. I want to see what happens after the Games.

Favorite Quote:

The pounding music, the cheers, the admiration work their way into my blood, and I can’t suppress my excitement. Cinna has given me a great advantage. No one will forget me. Not my look, not my name. Katniss. The girl who was on fire.

5 thoughts on “Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

  1. It’s okay that it wasn’t your favorite. I have no plans to publicly flog you at the moment. lol.

    Hunger Games is one of my fav books, as well as series. I think with any books, you have to be in the mood for them. For me, I this before there was a hype. I wasn’t even going to read it.. the description didn’t interest me.. It sounded bleak and dark.. The whole idea kinda turned me off. My friend Suzanne read them and wouldn’t take no for an answer.. so I sat down and blew through them. Well, the first two.. then I had to wait a painful long time for Mocking Jay.

    I had never read anything in this genre, and with no hype around it.. that really added to the magic for me.. I expected not to like it.. OH these books made me cry.. the were depressing yes, but for some reason the grabbed me.

    Never Ever apologize for not liking a book as much as everyone else. We are all unique, and we aren’t all going to love the same books.

    Now as far as the movie.. I’m like Crazy Mother Fucking excited for it.. so doody on you! lol

    ❤

  2. I’d seen the books of course, but never really had much interest. Then my friend Kelley told me to read them, because she thought I would LOVE them. MEH…not so much. I didn’t even finish the series. That being said, I AM excited about the movie. As I read it, I that thought kept jumping out. I think it will be a better movie, which is for me since I usually like the books better than the movie. Oh well. To each his own. 🙂 Nice review chica!

  3. Believe it or not, I don’t disagree w/you. I enjoyed it, but it’s not the best book ever like everyone else says. It’s so darn depressing. I thought I was going to shoot myself before I finished Mockingjay. I think I’ll like the movie better, too. Great review, Twinsie!

  4. I think I gave the first book 4 stars but as I kept reading the series I really got into them. They are really depressing though 😦 I try to limit my depressing books. I also didn’t have the Peeta love everyone else had. He kind of annoyed me the way he just kept wanting to die. I loved Gale more but I’m always a sucker for the life long friend. I’m very excited about the movie!

Leave a Reply

