Review: Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Goodreads Description:

The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate percentage of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance between her and the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend America, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the charming college co-ed. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his charms, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’ apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

Why did I pick it?

Well, I actually didn’t pick this one for myself. My good blogger friend Autumn from The Autumn Review loaned it to me over a weekend. It was so awesome of her to do for me and I was really excited to read it.

What did I think?

Where do I start? This book was absolutely amazing to me! I literally could not put it down. Seriously. Plus I thought is was so adorable how it reminded me of Disney’s Lady and the Tramp. Mainly because he calls her Pidgeon. And he’s a tramp…or err…man-whore 😉

I started this on Saturday 3/10 while on my way to get my taxes done. It’s about an hour drive there so I can put in some good reading time while my mom and uncle drove. I got about halfway through by the time I was on my way home…..and just as I was coming close to my house mu Kindle battery dies. I freaked out for a minute. LOL I tweeted Autumn and she freaked out with me. (It was a good bonding moment 😉 )

After I got home, I plugged in my Kindle and did not stop reading til the end. It was so crazy how wrapped up I got in this book. I’ve never read anything by McGuire before but I can tell you, I’ll be looking forward to more of her books.

It was so bad, that my fiancee gave up talking to me cuz I wouldn’t hear (listen) to anything he was telling me. It was like I had tunnel vision and this book was all I wanted to see.

Now that I’ve rambled on…back to the part about the book….

This book had such a different perspective. I get tired of those types of cookie-cutter books where it’s the normal boy meets girl, boy falls in love with girl, boy and girl have trouble, girl yells at boy, boy and girl break up, boy and girl make up….happily ever after (zzzz…snore)

Sometimes you want something that’s different. Something that’s real. That’s what I think this book is. Really and truly is.

The relationship between Travis and Abby is not….typical. It’s….what’s the word?….dysfuntional. But at the same time it’s so totally magical. Hence the title Beautiful Disaster.

I love that. To the extreme.

They fight (big time), they yell (a lot), they leave (a couple times), and they make up. Just like a couple would.

I’ll get a little into the characters here…

Abby…is a really likeable character. Although she frustrated me to no end. I think she was the cause of a lot of the things that went down in this book. I wanted to smack her a few times to knock some sense into her. LOL

America was hilarious and the perfect best friend for Abby. They complimented each other the way best friends are supposed to.

Shepley is another really good friend. He’s protective and passionate. He was a great addition to this story.

Then there’s Travis…..oh hot….Travis. There are so many inappropriate things that I want to do to him that I can’t really list on here but….yea….you get the idea. Not only is he hot but he really is one of the most sweetest, loving, caring character that I’ve come across. And I’ve come across quite a few.

This story is about the journey that Abby and Travis take together and all the ups and downs. It’s real. And gritty. And hard.

There is also really good sex. LOL That is why this is NOT YA!!!! This is Adult. No Disney up in here! *fans self*

This is truly a book that I will read over and over and over again. I will recommend this to all of my friends who have not had the pleasure of reading this. You really should read it.

Now….on a side (and personal) note:

This book and the author of this book has been receiving a lot of flack for it. I understand that not everybody liked every book. I get it. Really. But when you bash a book and/or the author, all it really does is make yourself look bad.

Not every book is for every one. I understand. I don’t love every book I come across. But taking it out on the author is unacceptable to me. They’re people just like you and me and they have feelings too. They put their heart and soul into what they’re writing and for someone to just stick a knife through it…it hurts.

I don’t really think it’s write when people do that. I really don’t. I actually get upset about it.

Once it’s said (or blogged/typed) you can never really take it back. It’s out there forever.

Now that I’ve rambled some more……

Favorite Quotes:

“It’s going to be like this all night, Mare. Just ignore them,” Shepley said, nodding to a small group of girls standing a few feet away. They eyed the blonde, waiting for their turn. “It looks like Vegas threw up on a flock of vultures,” America sneered.

“You just want me to hold you until you fall asleep?” I didn’t answer. He shifted to look straight into my eyes. “I should say no to prove a point,” he said, his eyebrows pulling together. “But I would hate myself later if I said no and you never asked me again.”

America leaned over to whisper in my ear.”I’m so glad you’re here, Abby. I feel like I just walked into a Molly Ringwald movie.”

I don’t normally do this…but because this has become an instant favorite of mine, I’m giving a little Travis eye candy for the ladies. I feel that if this book was ever made into a movie, Travis would be played by…Adam Levine. So….here’s some eye candy:

15 thoughts on “Review: Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

  1. OMG I thought I was the only one that thought of Lady and the Tramp every time he called her Pidge!!! Glad you enjoyed this one! I loved it. It was like a crazy train wreck I couldn’t look away from. Plus I’m a real sucker for an HEA. I try not to read anything that doesn’t have an HEA. I’m looking forward to this book again from Travis’ POV. Should be good!

  2. Great review Jess! You are spot on with the book. It’s amazing and I really hope more people read it. It’s truly unlike any book I’ve ever read. It is real, gritty, and beautiful all at the same time. So glad you loved it!

  3. Jessica,
    Great review. I read this too, because of Autumn she said my book reminded her of Beautiful Disaster. I just posted my review yesterday on GR and I said the same thing, this was a real book, with real, blood, sweat and tears in it. I was drawn into the heart and soul of this world and I loved every addictive second of it.

  4. Alright, twinsie, you’ve convinced me. I’m going to buy this right now. I’ve been meaning to, I actually got my sister-n-law to buy it. I can’t wait to read this one. I’m so glad you loved it.
    Thanks for the Adam Levine hotness. It’s always appreciated!

  5. Okay, I have looked at this review a few times.. and due to the 3 drinks I have already had.. I cannot scroll up and read.. I am stuck looking at those damn pictures. I was unaware that he was so hot. I would like to see his dick.. For realz. I promise to come back and read later, after I have sobered up and blown my girly load. I sincerely do want to know how this book is. lol.

    Oh shit , the flowers on your blog are fucking with me.

    disclaimer. I’m such a lightweight. It’s pathetic.

  6. Omg I love this book sooooo much! I always would think who would play the roles if this becomes a movie and I couldn’t believe that u thought about Adam Levine too(: he is just so perfect for the role! I also can’t wait for the otherPOV’s to come out. Loved the review by they was

  7. Pingback: beautiful disaster by jamie mcguire - The Busy Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

