Review: Darkhouse by Karina Halle

Darkhouse by Karina Halle

Goodreads Description:

There’s always been something a bit off about Perry Palomino. Though she’s been dealing with a quarter-life crisis and post-college syndrome like any other twenty-something, she’s still not what you would call “ordinary.” For one thing, there’s her past which she likes to pretend never happened, and then there’s the fact that she sees ghosts. Luckily for her, that all comes in handy when she stumbles across Dex Foray, an eccentric producer for an upcoming webcast on ghost hunters. Even though the show’s budget is non-existent and Dex himself is a maddening enigma, Perry is instantly drawn into a world that both threatens her life and seduces her with a sense of importance. Her uncle’s haunted lighthouse provides the perfect catalyst and backdrop for a mystery that unravels the threads of Perry’s fragile sanity and causes her to fall for a man, who, like the most dangerous of ghosts, may not be all that he seems.

Why did I pick it?

Well I’ve actually had this for a while. But the author actually got a hold of me just recently to do a cover reveal for her 5th book On Demon Wings for this series.

I was surprised she contacted me. I still consider myself not really known on the twitterverse so I was ecstatic when she DM’ed me. So I HAD to read this. Just had to. 😉

What did I think?

I loved it. I seriously loved this book.

Ok. That’s my review.

Juuuuust kidding. *takes a deep breath* Ok here goes…..

There aren’t really enough words for me to express how much I really enjoyed this book.

First and foremost, this is actually the new cover that she just revealed not too long ago. I love it. It’s so pretty and ominous in a way.

Perry. I instantly liked her. She has such a great mind and personality. She’s different. Not your normal person that you would find in a book really. She has/had problems. Her family is dysfuntional to a point. Which makes this much more enjoyable. To me, that is.

She’s not skinny. She’s not blonde. She’s not quiet. It makes her more real.

Dex….was a hard person to read in this book. You don’t get too in depth with him in this. He’s a question mark. You never know what his mood is or where he’s going with something. I totally think he’s hot. Don’t get me wrong. He’s totally Johnny Depp to me.

What I think I love most about these characters is that they’re broken in some way. Perry had a hard past and Dex is bi-polar. Who smokes. It’s so awesome that they’re not the popular jock and cheerleader. Inside I was jumping for joy really. Nobody writes about that.

This entire book has so much heart and creepiness, it’s a heady combo. 😉

I love how you’re with Perry as she’s going through all of the mysterious findings and having so much courage. I swear, I was so into this book that when my phone would get a tweet, I’d jump.

This book really surprised me as well. I’ve never read any horror. I was nervous but I went into this with an open mind and was completely blown away. Halle did such an amazing job. Plus she’s such a great person which is a huge bonus.

The creepy is pretty evident in here. It literally had me at the edge of my seat. I couldn’t stop reading. I devoured every word and just kept wanting more.

The lighthouse was described so creepy I still get shivers thinking about it. Everything that happens in the lighthouse is so realistic. I felt everything that Perry felt….and possibly more. I wouldn’t have had the courage she had.

Dex and Perry’s relationship is so great. They spar and have a special connection. It pulls them both but they’re not sure what they’re being pulled to.

I want to talk more about this book but I can’t be spoiler-y. Bummer deal. If you’ve read this, DM or tweet me because I love to talk aboutthis entire series.

Favorite Quote:

“She may not be a self0obsessed stick-thin bimbo, but she’s more than right for this job. You’re right in that she’s got something about her, and we have a right to share that with the world. This show is more than just stupid ghost stories. This show will go further into those mysteries than any show has before. It will bring that real back to reality programming. She’s smart, she’s beautiful, sexy and charming. You know it, I know it, and soon everyone else will know it. The only person who doesn’t know it is her because of archaic fuckheads like yourself telling her otherwise.” <—–That’s my Dex!!!!

~*~*~*~*~*SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT~*~*~*~*~*

DarkhouseRed Foxand The Benson are 99 cents on Amazon this week!

5 thoughts on “Review: Darkhouse by Karina Halle

  1. I love this series too! As a matter of fact, I just finished Red Fox over the weekend and immediately downloaded/started reading Dead Sky Morning. I got like 1/3 of the way through it before I made myself put it down and go to sleep last night.

  2. Holy geez! I freaking love this series. Each book gets a little bit scarier. I have to say, Lying Season creeped me way out. Poor Perry and Dex. They have potential to be one of the most awesome couples ever. And Dex…one of the hottest male leads ever!

Leave a Reply

