Review: Red Fox by Karina Halle

Red Fox by Karina Halle

Goodreads Description:

With Book Two of the Experiment in Terror Series, Perry Palomino and Dex Foray trade in the stormy Oregon coast for the unforgiving deserts of New Mexico. 

In the for­got­ten town of Red Fox, a Navajo cou­ple is tor­tured by things unseen and by motives unknown. Wild ani­mals slink through their house in the dark, a bar­rage of stones pound their roof nightly, and muti­lated sheep car­casses are turn­ing up on their prop­erty. Armed with a cam­era and just enough to go on, Perry and Dex travel to the des­o­late locale, hop­ing to film the super­nat­ural occur­rences and add cred­i­bil­ity to their flail­ing web­cast. Only their show has a lot more work­ing against them than just grow­ing pains. Tested by dubi­ous ranch hands, a ghost from Dex’s past, and shapeshift­ing decep­tion, the ama­teur ghost hunters must learn to trust each other in order to fight the most ancient of myths…or die trying.

Why did I pick this?

It’s obvious. I read Darkhouse. I couldn’t just stop there. I had to keep going.

What did I think?

Oh my goodness. This book was really creepy to me. As Karina takes you farther on this crazy journey, everything gets creepier and creepier. I love it!

This story takes pace in Red Fox, New Mexico. Right away you’re caught up in atmosphere.  The entire area seems so vast and eerie and it’s the perfect setting for this book.

Karina truly has a way with words. I felt like I was in the car with Perry and Dex.

Even from the start, there’s a level of doom that you feel.  A certain danger is in every corner and you aren’t sure who you can trust. It was very intriguing and very very enthralling.

I loved Darkhouse a lot. But this is even better. There are higher stakes and this will keep you on the edge of your seat. So many crazy/weird things happen in this book. Plus skinwalkers. Holy crap!

As Perry and Dex take this bizarre/paranormal trip, we get to dig a little deeper into who each one of them are. You learn a different side to Dex. Which I was really happy about. I wanted to know more about these characters and learn about their past. I really felt the sexual tension in this book with Dex and Perry. There’s something there that neither of them really want to push. But it’s there. For sure.

I loved seeing the new sides of Dex and Perry. It made love them more. Their interactions with each other always satisfy yet leaves you wanting more.

Side/Personal Note: The Bar. Yes. The Bar. Oh. Em. Gee. I loved that part. (and the tree part too)

Anyways…..

I had to finish this book in one sitting. I seriously could not stop myself. This is so far my favorite in the series and I can’t wait to start the next book.

The series just keeps getting better and better the more I read. The more I read, the more I love this. It’s becoming one of my top series.

Everything about this series is unique and it makes it that much better. This book isn’t ordinary. It’s extraordinary. Every word pulls you in. I can’t wait to see what happens in the next book. I’m rooting for Dex and Perry…but stupid Jennifer….

Favorite Quote/Part:

And then…then he started singing along with Joel’s voice. Softly, quietly. I was such a sucker right there and then and he knew it, that bastard. If he wasn’t holding me up, my spine would have collapsed in a warm puddles of blissed-out nerves. He leaned further in and sang into my ear, a deep murmur that sent shivers through me that I tried to contain. Why was he doing this to me?

~*~*~*~*~*SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT~*~*~*~*~*

DarkhouseRed Foxand The Benson are 99 cents on Amazon this week!

4 thoughts on “Review: Red Fox by Karina Halle

  1. I’m reading Dead Sky Morning right now…if I would have been able time-wise to read it straight through I would have. I’m dying to finish it and I don’t think I’ll be able to do it tonight either. DYING. This is the creepiest one in the series so far, IMO.

  2. Red Fox is still my favorite in the series. The bar, the tree, the bathtub when Dex is taking care of Perry. I don’t know if things will ever work out for these two, but I had so much fun reading this book. Nice review, Jess!

Leave a Reply

