Review: Dead Sky Morning by Karina Halle

Dead Sky Morning by Karina Halle

Goodreads description:

With the Experiment in Terror show finding some success, amateur ghost hunters Perry Palomino and Dex Foray embark on their most terrifying investigation yet. A tiny, fog-shrouded island in the rough strait between British Columbia and Washington State has held a dark secret for decades: It was a former leper colony where over forty souls were left to rot, die and bury each other. Now a functioning campground, Perry and Dex spend an isolated weekend there to investigate potential hauntings but as the duo quickly find out, there is more to fear on D’Arcy Island than just ghosts. The island quickly pits partner against partner, spiraling the pair into madness that serves to destroy their sanity, their relationship and their very lives.

As we continue on with Experiment in Terror week on my blog….

As I keep reading this series, the more I love it and the more creepy it becomes. So far, this is the creepiest.

When you read the first chapter, you’ll get a bit creeped out. I did. The way that Karina explains everything, makes you really visualize it. Everything is so beautifully written so that all the words flow.

In this book, we get to have a better peak of what makes Dex tick. Dex is very complicated. And when I say complicated, I mean complicated. Dex teeters on an emotional seesaw for me. At times he says the greatest things that make you swoon then says or does something so completely opposite it shocks me.

Perry also gets to reveal things about her past and I love her even more after she tells them. Perry has to be one of my most favorite characters ever. She’s so awesome. She still has her “crush” on Dex. I technically do too 😉 I’m not really sure as to where Halle is going to take them but I’m more than excited to find out.

Dex and Perry travel to a deserted island in Canada. An isolated, lonely island that used to house about 40 Chinese lepers who were left there to die. As soon as they arrive, weird things happen. Rabid raccoons, disappearing deer, and nasty zombies.

Not everything that happens on the island is bad. There are some really good things that happen too. Some really good things. Dex and Perry start to know each other better by playing some games with a bottle of Jack Daniels. Just a note….Sparks fly….everywhere.

This book was crazy intense and crazy suspenseful. There was no down time for anything. I practically devoured this book just like all the books in this series and I’ll most likely devour the next one.

I can’t wait to see what else Halle has up her sleeve in store for Dex and Perry. I honestly do hope that Dex and Perry end up together. I just don’t know if Dex is really right for her. Perry deserves to be loved and Dex might not be the man to do it. But I sincerely hope he is. I’m totally Team Dex.

Favorite Quote:

“You’ve got a beautiful face,” he continues, his voice a register lower. The roughness of it made the hairs on my arms stand up. “Gorgeous eyes. I mean I’ve rarely seen eyes like yours. F***. It’s like looking out at the ocean, trying to read it as the weather’s changing. Perfect lips. The most adorable freckles and the tiniest little nose. You’re like a sexy…bunny.”

~*~*~*~*~*SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT~*~*~*~*~*

DarkhouseRed Foxand The Benson are 99 cents on Amazon this week!

One thought on “Review: Dead Sky Morning by Karina Halle

  1. This book is crazy, right? Those leper zombies freaked me out. I totally loved the drinking games! And weren’t you so excited when Jenn wasn’t…you know. So happy you love this, twinsie!

Leave a Reply

