Review: Lying Season by Karina Halle

Lying Season by Karina Halle

Goodreads Description:

Ama­teur ghost-hunter Perry Palomino has bat­tled ghosts, fought off skin­walk­ers and skirted the fine line between life and death. But can she sur­vive bunk­ing down in Seat­tle for a week with her partner (and man she secretly loves) Dex and his perfect girl­friend, Jennifer? And can she do so while being tor­mented by a mali­cious spirit from Dex’s increas­ingly shady past? With love and life in the bal­ance, Perry must dis­cover the truth among the lies or risk los­ing every­thing she’s ever cared about.

As my Experiment in Terror week comes to a close…..

What did I think?

Three words: O.M.G.<—yes that’s three 😉

For just a second, look at that cover. I mean…..really look at it. How freaking creepy is that?! When I picked this up, I had no idea what I was getting into. The cover seriously freaked me out. I mean….whoa *shivers*…

This book picks up right where Dead Sky Morning leaves off. This time the suspense and tension are a lot higher in this book.

Perry and Dex go inspect a haunted mental institution. How creepy is that?! Not only does Perry have to be in close proximity with her love interest Dex, but she also has to put up with his hot, overtly sweet girlfriend Jenn.

Talk about awkward right? You have no idea….

I think one of the best parts of this book is watching Perry grow up and get some real confidence. I know Dex has a lot to do with that but it’s great that it’s not just Dex. It’s really herself.

One of the other best parts is Dex tells Perry more about his past. Dex is so complicated. Argh! But I love him so! He still holds the title to one of my most favorite characters. You love him, yet you want to punch him right in the face. 😉 Which makes him all the more special to me. So complicated… *swoons*

We get introduced to a couple new characters in this book. One of whom I fell completely in love with. Rebecca. Oh man she is just so awesome. Oh just a breath of fresh air that Perry needs.

Things get real in this. I mean really real. In every way. For the last half hour that I was reading this, my eyes must have been bugging out and my mouth in a constant shock formation. I stayed up until 3 am finishing this.

And oooooohhhhh the ending. Left me with soooooo many unanswered questions. Everything was left in the open and I’m so anxious to get to the next book.

On a side/personal note:

I really did enjoy this series thoroughly. Not only do I think the author is brilliant but she is wicked cool. I’ve gotten to talk to her on Twitter and she has to be one of the coolest chicks out there.

Whenever I read a book, I always talk about it to my fiancee. I love how he indulges me and acts interested…Even though I know he’d rather be playing video games. What really Robby’s (my fiancee) attention is when I mentioned the bands that Perry talks about in the books. Slayer, Mr. Bungle, Peeping Tom… those are ALL bands that Robby and I listen to. It surprised Robby that a chick listens to these bands because they’re pretty underground.

I asked Karina about it and she’s was a music journalist and got to meet Mike Patton and has met Dave Lombardo a couple of times. It’s actually really cool. Robby was also impressed. 😉

As I was talking about the series, Robby dragged this out:

Notice the name….haha

It was really cool that she talked to me. LOL I know that sounds lame but it always means a lot to me when an author (one of my favs) actually acknowledges me. You know? It’s awesome. So I want to say a special thank you to Karina. You are one wicked cool chick!!

I encourage you to read this series. For real. The series is awesome and so is the author.

Favorite Quotes:

“It’s not magic Perry. You’re the most beautiful woman I’ve ever known and before you say anything, you’ve always been that way to me.”

6 thoughts on “Review: Lying Season by Karina Halle

Leave a Reply

