Review: Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Goodreads Description:

Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath, where immortals Feed on the emotions of despairing humans. Now she’s returned- to her old life, her family, her friends- before being banished back to the underworld… this time forever. She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can’t find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists. Nikki longs to spend these months reconnecting with her boyfriend, Jack, the one person she loves more than anything. But there’s a problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who first enticed her to the Everneath, has followed Nikki to the mortal world. And he’ll do whatever it takes to bring her back- this time as his queen. As Nikki’s time grows short and her relationships begin slipping from her grasp, she’s forced to make the hardest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and remain on the Surface with Jack or return to the Everneath and become Cole’s..

Why did I pick it?

This book is a part of my Debut Author Challenge 2012. I originally picked this because of all the good things I was hearing about it. Plus I loved the cover. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Not only was this book getting great reviews, it also had an interesting story line. I’m all for the books that have “not your normal” stories. This was one of them.

What did I think?

I have mixed feelings about this book. I liked it, yet, I didn’tย likeย it.

The beginning to about the middle of the book was a bit slow for me. It was a little confusing and I had a hard time really getting into it. There was a lot of heartache and angst in the beginning and well, through the middle of the book. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for lost love and heartache and redemption but, to me, this had more than it’s fair share of it. It was a little bit too much for me personally.

The part of the story that I absolutely fell in love with was Nikki and Jack’s love. The depth of their love is so complete. It’s hard to really explain. I’m all for the stories where a little girl and little boy meet when they’re neighbors, grow up together and fall in love. It’s one of my most favorite types of stories. The love that blossoms like that is so pure and sweet it makes my own heart swell up.

Nikki and Jack had that kind of love. It was so HUGE and all-consuming but at the same time so passionate and sweet.

Then enters Cole. Cole loves Nikki, but in a different kind of way. Cole’s not the normal kind of guy. Although he has all of sexiness in him. A lot. He wants to to care of Nikki and keep her from the badness of the Everneath. I’m still not too sure of Cole’s intentions. Whether they are for the best of Nikki or if they’re purely selfish.

Nikki struggles between what her heart says and what her mind thinks is better. There is a lot of soul searching in this book. I loved Nikki for her strength in regards to what she wants and what’s the good way to go. She has a lot of strength that this first book only tapped into. I know this will be a series so I can’t wait to read when Nikki finds that inner strength and pushes herself to be great.

Ashton wrote this book that flips back and forth from past to present. It was a bit confusing to me but I was able to keep up. She really wrote an intriguing book and her writing seemed to flow. Even though I was a bit confused here and there, Ashton kept it to where I would’t get too lost.

Overall I liked this book well enough. It wasn’t a favorite of mine but I am excited to see what happens in the next one. I look forward to reading more about all the characters, especially Jack. Jack kept melting my heart throughout then entire book.

Favorite Quote:

Jack shifted toward me. “So, Jules gets a smile, huh?”

I could feel his eyes on me, waiting for a response. He hadn’t tried to talk to me since that first day, and his voice directed at me again did strange things to me. Made my stomach flutter. Of course, Jack had always had that power over me.

I kept my eyes down, but I couldn’t stop my lips from turning upward.

“I see that,” he said. Jack always saw everything.

2 thoughts on “Review: Everneath by Brodi Ashton

  1. Ooh, interesting. I’ve only seen the really positive reviews for Everneath. Your’s provides a nice balance. I’ve had Everneath for ages, but keep putting it off. Great review, twinsie!

  2. I’m with Andrea, I have only seen the raving reviews.. so I’m glad yours picks it apart a bit more. I love this cover.

    I adore love stories where they grow over time. I’m a little apprehensive here though, because it seems there is a love triangle. Which is fine.. but sometimes they annoy me. It depends on the book though, I’m fickle. lol. If it’s done right, then I’m all for it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I like that it’s written bouncing back and forth from past to present. I recently read Pandamonium, and that was done that way. It kept things interesting. So yay to that.

    Oh, and I love you. That is all. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

