Lying Season Blog Tour Stop & Giveaway

If you don’t know already, you should know that I absolutely LOVE this series. This has become one of my most favorites series to date. This entire series is so unexpected and wonderfully enticing. It will capture you with page one of Darkhouse to the last sentence in Lying Season.

So when I heard that there was a blog tour for Lying Season, I immediately wanted in. After I did my happy jig of course. 😉

Not only is this series a-mazing, the author is one of the sweetest women I know and a pleasure to talk to (well…tweet to ;-)).

Without further ado (and rambling), I’m here to present Lying Season:

Goodreads Description:

Ama­teur ghost-hunter Perry Palomino has bat­tled ghosts, fought off skin­walk­ers and skirted the fine line between life and death. But can she sur­vive bunk­ing down in Seat­tle for a week with her partner (and man she secretly loves) Dex and his perfect girl­friend, Jennifer? And can she do so while being tor­mented by a mali­cious spirit from Dex’s increas­ingly shady past? With love and life in the bal­ance, Perry must dis­cover the truth among the lies or risk los­ing every­thing she’s ever cared about.

 

 

 

EXCERPT:

For my part in this tour, I have an excerpt from Darkhouse which is ithe first book in the series:

I walked to the opposite edge of the boat, where the Pacific stretched to meet the matching sky, and went down on my knees.

“She’s gonna hurl!” Whiz yelled from the front.

“Shut the fuck up,” I heard Dex tell him.

“You OK, Perry?” Matt asked, ignoring the two.

I motioned for them to just stop talking and leave me alone and concentrated on not losing my lunch over the side.

The bottom of the boat soaked my knees, but I didn’t care. I gripped the edge with my hands and put my head over until all I could see was the sloshing grey surf beneath me.

The guys were all yammering on about something, but somehow my brain was cooperating with me and slowly drowning them out, like my ears had a dimmer switch.

I kept my focus on the churning ocean, concentrating on the myriad of muted, cold colors and the shapes the creamy seafoam was creating with each crest and fall. The waves of nausea continued to pass through me though. The only thing that felt worse was the uneasiness and panic that also coursed through my veins. I was fearful and I didn’t know what of.

I closed my eyes and breathed in the salt air. The roar of the engine, the boys, and sound of the waves subsided until all I heard was the throbbing of my own heart in my head.

“Perry.”

It was a female voice.

I opened my eyes and looked. All I could see was the ocean.

“Perry,” it said again. It was eerily familiar and coming from in front of me. From the waves.

“Perry, are you OK?”

Could I be hearing things?

I slowly turned and looked at the rest of the boat. Dex’s back was to me, still filming the land and the lighthouse which was now coming into view. Matt was focused on driving while Whiz was yapping to him about something. Tony seemed to be paying attention to him while eyeing me in his peripheral vision.

“Perry, help me,” I heard the voice say again from the direction of the water. My eyes widened and heart slowed. I had no choice but to look back over the edge of the boat.

In the water, it looked like something dark was moving beneath the waves. At first it looked like a passing shadow of a crest, or manipulation by a white cap. But the more I stared, the more I could make out something.

Was it an arm? It moved like one.

Then fingertips. I could see a hand just below the water’s surface.

I tried to scream, to say anything, to move. But I couldn’t. I could only watch a hand reach out of the water, turning from a watery shadow to a physical object. It was shades of green and white, but it was real with blue veins running up the arm.

And then the arm was joined by another, like a headless person was treading water. I was riveted on the spot where the head should be. I could see the swirling shadows beneath it.

One of the hands started wagging a finger at me. I casually recognized the blue nailpolish on its finger. I had that same shade.

Still gripping the edge with my hands, I slowly got to my knees until I was standing right above and peering down at the body.

The head broke through the water.

It was me.

I was looking at myself floating in the water, eyeing myself down with dead, glassy eyes that streamed green fluid.

“Save me, Perry,” she said. My mouth dropped open. I felt like my body was going through a freefall. My mind reeled.

And before I could react, she lunged out of the water and grabbed a hold of my poncho with both hands.

I let out a scream that shook my bones to their marrow and was pulled forward over the railing of the boat.

The water rushed up to greet me, turning black before it was about to swallow me into its depths.

 

 

 

Karina Halle
Author of The Experiment in Terror Series
Look for Book #5 – On Demon Wings – out May 13th, 2012
A chance to win an Experiment in Terror ebook of your choice!!!
Giveaway ends April 25th.
2 thoughts on “Lying Season Blog Tour Stop & Giveaway

  1. Girl! You know I love this series. Totally entered to try to win Lying Season tho I’ll be buying it and On Demon Wings for sure. Great giveaway, thanks (and thanks to Karina as well!).

Leave a Reply

