Review: Predestined by Abbi Glines

Predestined by Abbi Glines

Goodreads Description:

You would think after helping save her boyfriend from an eternity in Hell that things would go back to normal. Well, as normal as life can be when you can see souls and your boyfriend is Death. But for Pagan Moore, things are just getting weirder. 

The high school quarterback and reigning heartthrob, Leif Montgomery, is missing. While the town is in a frenzy of worry, Pagan is a nervous wreck for other reasons. Apparently good ‘ol Leif isn’t your average teenage boy. He isn’t even human. According to Death, Leif doesn’t have a soul. The quarterback may have skipped town but he’s still showing up in Pagan’s dreams… uninvited. 

Dank has known from the beginning Leif wasn’t human. But he hadn’t worried about a simple soulless creature. Now, he realizes he made a grave mistake. Pagan’s soul has been marked since birth as a restitution, to a spirit so dark not even Death walks near it. Dank knows saving Pagan’s soul won’t be easy but Pagan is his. And he’s already proven he’ll defy Heaven to keep her. If Hell wants a piece of him too, then bring it on.

Why did I pick it?

I’ve recently become a huge Abbi Glines fan. Every book she writes gets better and better. I read Existence earlier this year and fell in love with it. Abbi just has this way with storytelling that keeps you captivated. Every one of her books has become and instant favorite that I will read over and over again.

What did I think?

*****IF YOU HAVE NOT READ EXISTENCE PLEASE DO NOT READ AHEAD!!!!***

Well in Existence, we left Dank and Pagan trying to start a real relationship. Can you imagine dating Death? Yea. Me neither. It would be pretty cool though. 

I really like how Dank and Pagan are together. They obviously love each other and I think it’s a really cute way. The only real problem is that Leif is missing and Dank says that he has no soul. What does that mean? Well I can’t tell you because of spoilers. *cackles*

In all seriousness this book was really really good. So good, in fact, that I was at my best friend’s bachelorette party weekend and still read before bed!!! 

The part I really liked about this book is that it was more dark and emotional. Don’t get me wrong, Abbi’s books ALWAYS have emotion in them. But this one had such heart-wrenching scenes and romantical. 

I’ll start with Pagan. I loved learning more about Pagan and watching her grow. She’s a strong girl that we only got a glimpse of in the first of the series. She knows what she wants and she will fight for who she loves. I admired her for that. 

Gee. What can I say? I totally dug her. She was hilarious and I loved for how protective she was of Pagan. Always ready to defend and kick some a**.

Miranda is the perfect best friend. She is always ready to support Pagan with anything. And Pagan with her. She has the snarkiness that it so lovable.

Dank. Oh how he melted my heart in this book. Soooooooo many times. I was tearing up a lot. He is such a hunk of a man. I wanted one of my own.

There is some major things going down throughout this book. I loved the fact that there some voodoo. Voodoo has always fascinated me and creeped me out at the same time. A lot of it gets explained in the book which I really appreciated. I also liked how Abbi explained how everyone’s souls work and reincarnation. 

My favorite parts of the book are when it’s Dank’s POV. He sees things in a completely different way that was so beautiful and enchanting. It’s amazing to read how he views Pagan. He melted my heart so many times. 

There really isn’t much to say because of spoilers. So I’ll just leave you with a favorite quote to wet your appetite:

Favorite Quote:

I felt a wetness in my eyes and I blinked confused from the strange sensation. A small trickle of water ran down my cheek. I stared into the darkness as I held Pagan in my arms in amazement. Death has just shed a tear.

4 thoughts on “Review: Predestined by Abbi Glines

  1. * looks up at Autumn’s comment* Rub it in, why don’t ya?! 😉

    I loved Predestined. I loved the character and plot development. I loved seeing Dank’s POV. I even loved Leif!

    I’m dying to find out what happens next. Great review, twinsie!

Leave a Reply

