Review: Bring on the Night by Jeri Smith-Ready

Bring on the Night by Jeri Smith-Ready

Goodreads Description:

WHAT’S BLOOD GOT TO DO WITH IT?

Recovering con artist Ciara Griffin seems to finally have it all. A steady job at WVMP, the Lifeblood of Rock ‘n’ Roll. A loving relationship with the idiosyncratic but eternally hot DJ Shane McAllister. A vampire dog who never needs shots or a pooper-scooper. And after nine years, it looks as if she might actually finish her bachelor’s degree

But fate has other plans for Ciara. First she must fulfill her Faustian bargain with the Control, the paranormal paramilitary agency that does its best to keep vampires in line. Turns out the Control wants her for something other than her (nonexistent) ability to kick undead ass. Her anti-holy blood, perhaps? Ciara’s suspicions are confirmed when she’s assigned to a special-ops division known as the Immanence Corps, run by the Control’s oldest vampire and filled with humans who claim to have special powers. To a confirmed skeptic like Ciara, it sounds like a freak fest. But when a mysterious fatal virus spreads through Sherwood–and corpses begin to rise from their graves–Ciara will not only get a crash course in zombie-killing, but will be forced to put her faith, and her life itself, in the hands of magic.

Why did I pick this?

It should be obvious. If it isn’t, I’ll explain….this series rocked my face off. I read all of them one right after the other. I couldn’t stop. I just had to know what happens.

What did I think?

Out of all of the books in this series, this one was my favorite. There was so much going on. I loved every word and I devoured it.

Shane and Ciara seriously get better with every book. I absolutely adore their characters. They are so perfect for each other and it was so much fun reading Ciara almost just play it off. The emotions that were rolling off these pages was really intense at times. This book had me laughing, crying, and wanting to toss my book in frustration at times. But this book was nothing but badass.

Oh how I simply cannot get enough of Franklin in this book. The interactions that he has with Ciara are my most treasured. They always make me laugh. Franklin adds that certain something that is part of the glue that holds this book together. I loved reading more about him and seeing a glimpse of his personality and personal life. He has to be one of my favorite characters ever. He holds a special place in my heart. Especially after this book.

This book had my heart racing and my mind reeling the entire time. Non. Stop. Action. Oh! And ZOMBIES! Once I read there were zombies, it kicked this book from badass to EPIC.

This series is totally going into my favorite series category. It’s just so different than anything I’ve read before. I’ve said this before and I’ll probably say it a lot more, but when you start reading for a blog, you read ALOT. Sometimes the stories start to sound the same. Now, that’s not saying the authors are stealing ideas, it’s just they have the same concept. This series broke the mold and it blew my mind.

I encourage you to read this series. Seriously. Do it. You won’t regret it.

Favorite Quote:

“I was just playing.” The gob of drool on my chin made me a liar. “When’s he coming back?”

“I know cheerleaders are an auto-uncool in your grunge-boy book,” I told Shane,” and you never would’ve looked at me twice. At football games you would’ve been too busy getting stoned under the bleachers with your ironic friends, making fun of everyone in school spirit.” …”I would’ve looked at you,” Shane said finally. “A lot more than once.”

One thought on “Review: Bring on the Night by Jeri Smith-Ready

  1. Yessss!!!!!

    I really don’t have much to add other than incoherent bablbling. I’m so happy you GET this series. I am so in love w/Shane. Sigh….

    Oh…and Franklin broke my heart, Monroe needs to snap out of it, and Jim must DIE!!!!!!!!!!

    Love ya, Twinsie!

    Cross Continental Kisses!!

Leave a Reply

