Review: What a Boy Wants by Nyrae Dawn

What a Boy Wants by Nyrae Dawn

Goodreads Description:

Courtesy of watching his mom’s relationships, Sebastian Hawkins knows what girls need to do to get a guy. He has what he considers a PHD in hooking up. When he needs extra cash for a car, Sebastian starts up an online venture as The Hook-up Doctor, to anonymously help girls land the guy of their dreams. Of course, his services don’t offer a happily-ever-after guarantee. He’s seen firsthand getting together never means staying together.

And then he falls in love…

With the last girl he would expect…

Totally not in his game plan.

Suddenly, Sebastian finds himself muddled in the game he’s always prided himself on. He can’t even pick up girls at parties anymore! Why would anyone want to be in love when it turns you into a stuttering, screwed-up, mess with really lame stalker tendencies? Stalking? Totally not his gig.

But the Hook-up Doctor won’t let himself go down easily. He’s always known how to give a girl what she wants and now it’s time to figure out what a boy wants… and he definitely plans on getting it.

Why did I pick this?

My good friends Autumn at The Autumn Review and Andrea at The Bookish Babe were actually pressuring me to read it. They’re my really good friends and we have the same taste in books so I thought “what the hell?”. My other good friend April at Sim Sational Books was getting pressured too so I joined her in reading this book. 🙂

What did I think?

I’ll start off with the cover. I think Sebastian is so adorable. If I was 17, I’d totally be crushing on him big time. I love the eyebrow ring. Probably because my fiancee has one. 😉 The cover is bright and colorful and it draws you in right away. I could look into Bastian’s eyes forever. *swoons*

Sebastian thinks he knows it all when it comes to women. He is the Hook-Up Doctor after all, right? I think, personally, every man thinks he knows everything about women. News flash…..women are a giant mystery! Mwahaha! It’s all part of the charm.

Anyways….. Sebastian has made a name for himself as the hook up doctor. “Hook up” being the key word. After seeing what his mom has gone through, he isn’t too sure about the long term portion. His mom has gone through some bad relationships and Bastian is always left to pick up the pieces of her broken heart. He doesn’t want that heartbreak to fall upon him and he doesn’t want to do that to anyone else. So he keeps things simple. Or so he thinks…

One of my most favorite kinds of stories to read are the ones where you have the boy and girl grow up neighbors then fall in love as they grow older. It just touches my heart when I read those stories. So the fact that this book had that plot I knew I’d like it.

I loved the fact that you had this small group of four kids who were just so tight-nit it was awesome. It was great to see all of them so ready to do whatever it took to keep each other happy. They’ll protect one another no matter what. It was really cute.

One of the other things that I truly enjoyed was Sebastian’s epic love for his mom. He always tried to play it off by being sarcastic or “manly” as he terms it. But deep down he is just a big ol’ mama’s boy 😉 He wanted so much to protect her from her heartbreaks. Then when he failed to, he hurt just as much.

Then Bastian falls in love….or what he thinks is love and everything in his entire world goes upside down. He is so lost and tries to fix it but it just turns up into a mess. As he struggles to find out what his exact feelings are, he figures out a little bit more about himself.

I thought this was a really quick, cute read. I found it a little predictable but really adorable. There were some things in there that I wasn’t expecting but I thought it was a really feel good book.

Nyrae Dawn has the great ability to illustrate a perfect POV for a 17 year old boy. Seriously. For the most part, it’s pretty much how every 17 year old boy thinks and acts. I loved it. It was like looking into the other team’s game plans. 😉

I don’t read too many books where it’s the guy’s POV so I was excited to read this book. I finished it in practically one day. Not that I read fast, it was a easy, good read.

It’s still only 99 cents on Amazon so I suggest you go pick it up and see what everyone is talking about! 🙂

Happy reading!

3 thoughts on “Review: What a Boy Wants by Nyrae Dawn

  1. Hi, twinsie!!

    I didn’t mean to over-pressure you into reading What a Boy Wants. Sorry!

    I am glad you liked it, despite the predictability. Isn’t Bastian the sweetest? Love a boy who loves his mom.

    Nice review, sweetie. Huggles!

Leave a Reply

