Review: What A Boy Needs by Nyrae Dawn

What A Boy Needs by Nyrae Dawn

Goodreads Description:

A companion novel to WHAT A BOY WANTS.

Jaden Sinclair knows he’ll never amount to anything…so why would he deserve a girl like Priscilla Mendoza?

Since last summer, things have been screwed up between Jaden and Pris. He knows it’s his fault, but that doesn’t stop him from wanting to go a few rounds with her new boyfriend. He also knows he’s the loser his dad calls him, but it doesn’t stop him from wanting her.

After getting a huge bomb dropped on him, Jaden lashes out and lands himself in jail. Everything in his chaotic life is turned upside down and to make it worse, his mom kicks him out in order to side with his dad. Yeah, he’s totally a prize for a girl like Pris.

Sebastian, Aspen, and Pris are all going places in their lives…and he knows he can’t keep tagging along for the ride.

The group has one last chance for The Epic Adventure they’ve been looking for: a road trip to New York, where Jaden’s friends will be going to college. Unfortunately, the more time Jaden hangs around Pris, the harder it is to keep the carefully constructed walls between them so she doesn’t find out what a train wreck he really is.

When the trip ends, Jaden has to decide if he’s ready to say goodbye to his friends, and the girl he loves. He knows what he needs, but will he be man enough to go for it?

Why did I pick this?

I recently read What A Boy Wants not too long ago and I fell in love with the characters. What A Boy Wants was the first book in this series. Although I did thoroughly enjoy the Sebastian and Aspen I was completely intrigued by Jaden. I wanted to know his story. I wanted to know more about this guy who had all these secrets. So I was really excited that Nyrae wrote this because Jaden’s story was just begging to be told.

What did I think?

I told you Jaden’s story needed to be told and Nyrae did a fantastic job doing just that. Even though, as I mentioned above, I enjoyed the first book in the series, this one really took the cake for me. I loved all the emotion and angst in this one. Usually I don’t really go for angst but this had the right amount.

Jaden doesn’t have the family life that he truly deserves. He’s really been through a lot. I felt for him. I felt his heart break. I felt his anger. This was so very real to me. I love it when a book gets emotional. It makes it more memorable.

It was really great to see him work through himself and rely on his friends. He never relied on anybody before so it was hard for him to break down but when he did, it was so beautiful because you could see the strength that he was beginning to show.

Pris was completely awesome. She was his rock. His steady and it was amazing to watch what she would do for him without him even saying anything. Their chemistry was unmistakable. Sparks flew everywhere. And not just from Pris’s firecracker personality 😉

Now, don’t get me wrong, there was heartbreak, angst, anger…but there were also comedy and heartwarming moments that took my breath away.

Nyrae Dawn has outdone herself with this sequel. I really enjoyed getting to know Jaden and struggle with him. I love that he grew and has a wonderful future ahead of his that he deserves. Such a really uplifting and beautiful story.

Favorite Quote:

Before he fell for Aspen, Sebastian didn’t believe in love. I always wanted to – I just didn’t know if I was worthy of it. But when she says it? This girl who can do anything? It’s like a law. If she can love me, I must be worth something, right?

One thought on “Review: What A Boy Needs by Nyrae Dawn

Leave a Reply

