Blog Tour: The Winemaker’s Dinner Review & Interview

Goodreads Description:

Recently named executive chef at one of Miami Beach’s hottest restaurants, Jaden Thorne is determined to make her culinary mark and fulfill her professional dreams. When Jaden is given highly coveted tickets to the ultra-exclusive Winemaker’s Dinner, she jumps at the opportunity to meet South Florida’s wealthiest and most influential food and wine enthusiasts.

Jaden’s eyes are drawn to the VIP section even before the appetizers appear, but she soon finds herself thinking less about networking and more about the intriguingly sexy stranger eying her from across the room. After dinner, what begins as a light-hearted flirtation unexpectedly catapults into a night of explosive passion. But when morning dawns, Jaden leaves her sleeping Mr. Oh So Sexy behind, sure they’ll never see each other again.

Dr. Ivan Rusilko, a handsome, young physician, boasts an extensive resume’ and a well-established position on Miami Beach’s social scene. But despite his success and glamour, he’s routinely had to suffer uninspiring dates and doomed relationships. With a romantic heart, Ivan’s not the love-‘em-and-leave-‘em type. But when he awakens to find that the girl in the red dress has done exactly that, he resolves to find her–only if it’s just to ask why she left without even a kiss goodbye.

The Winemaker’s Dinner is a fictionalized erotic memoir inspired by the romantic triumphs and tragedies of Dr. Ivan Rusilko’s real life. Weaving fact with fantasy, authors Everly Drummond and Dr. Ivan Rusilko have gifted readers with a swoon-worthy flesh and blood romantic hero and the intoxicating bouquet only a heartfelt tale of passionate love can create.

So what did I think?

I was really excited to start this novel. I’ve heard so many things about it and there was, of course, the fact that Dr. Ivan was a real guy. A hot guy at that. (heh.) So I was really looking forward to reading this hot steamy erotica co-written by this doctor/male model.

What I ended up with was a little bit more than a contemporary romance novel. It was more about the love that these two found and share than the erotic sexiness.

So, where do I start?

I’ll start off by saying that I liked this book.  I didn’t absolutely love it but I liked it. I loved the story behind it and the premise. The love between Jaden and Ivan was really pure and endearing. They really do make a cute couple and are perfect for each other. I really enjoyed the journey that they took together. How they met was really hawt and an awesome fantasy

Now, for the things that I didn’t care for. There was definitely a bunch of cheesy moments which had me laughing a bit. Some of the lines that Ivan would use were cliché life sayings that so many people have used before. Jaden cried quite a bit. I found my eyes rolling a couple of times. The last thing was the fact that she kept saying how beautiful Ivan was. Yes, we’ve seen the pictures. We know he’s a good looking man. We get it.

I’m not trying to be harsh. I told you I did like this book. Not one of my favorites but still a cute love story with some sexy love scenes.

Favorite Quote:

“A man would have to be blind not to notice when a beautiful woman like you looks his way.”

And now a lovely interview with the author EverlyDrummond :-):

Congratulations on the release of TWD! Thank you for spending some time to answer questions about this unique book.

 

Q: How did the idea for this book originate for you?

 

 

 

A: A Twitter follower sent me the link to her Man Candy blog. After reading Ivan’s bio, it kept nagging at me that he would make a great romance hero. It took me two months to finally gather up the nerve to ask him if I could use him as a character in the book. Ivan expressed interest in want to help write the book, and things just spiraled from there.

 

 

 

Q: Why choose Ivan Rusilko in particular?

 

A: Is this a trick question? I mean, look at him! 😉 All joking aside… Ivan is young, sexy, accomplished, and the type of guy you could meet while walking down the street. The perfect romance hero.

 

 

 

Q: How did The Winemaker’s Dinner scenario of how Jaden and Ivan meet come about?

 

A: The two of them meeting is based on real life events, although, the facts have been fictionalized.

 

 

 

Q: How did you create Jaden? How did you decide this was the type of woman for Ivan?
A: Before we started writing I asked Ivan a series of questions about his preferences in women. The physical description was the easy part. Jaden is a culmination of characteristics that Ivan is looking for in a woman.

 

 

 

Q: Can you explain the process of how you were able to co-write this book together? Explain the logistics of creating a fictional memoir. J
A: Through thousands and thousands of emails, literally. Creating a fictional memoir was easier than I’d expected. I was honored to be let into Ivan’s life in a very personal way. Through stories and accounts of his past experiences, we were able to create a fictional story that mirrored real life events that had happened in his past.

 

 

 

Q: Has this project played out the way you had originally anticipated or envisioned?
A: Yes and no. Only a short time ago my biggest concern was finding a publisher that could see what we envisioned for the book. We were offered several publishing contracts before signing with Omnific, but each of them wanted us to change elements of the story that we were unwilling to change. One publisher wanted us to keep the basic premise of the storyline but pretty much rewrite the entire book, while others thought that using a real person was too much and wanted us to change Ivan’s name to that of a fictional one. Through a series of very fortunate events, we found Omnific. They saw the potential in TWD and were more than willing to work with the story without asking us to change. However, never in a million years did I expect things to explode like this.  There was a 50/50 chance that things could’ve gone either way with this book. Either people were going to love having a real life romance hero, or they were going to hate.

 

 

 

Q: What did you learn about yourself while writing TWD?
A: For me, TWD wasn’t so much a personal journey. It was about getting to know Ivan and transforming him into a character while remaining tasteful and keeping in mind that he was putting his entire life out there on paper. But one thing I did learn from Ivan… Everything happens for a reason. That’s the biggest thing I took away from TWD and am very grateful for it.

 

 

 

Q: Someone on twitter said Ivan should be on Grey’s Anatomy. What do you think?
A: Honestly, I don’t watch Grey’s Anatomy, but I would certainly watch a show about Dr. Ivan. 😉

 

 

 

Q: Are you working on other projects outside of TWD sequels?
A: Right now my priority is getting the third book finished, but I do have a new City of the Damned installment coming out in October and I plan on writing a full length Inked novel once we’ve finished TWD.

 

 

 

Q: What do you read for fun when you’re not writing?
A: One of my weaknesses is YA, but I also read other fiction. One of my favorite authors is Christopher Moore.

 

 

 

Q: If you could make one wish for yourself and know that it would come true, what would it be?
A: I know that a lot of other writers say this, but I really do have the best readers out there. My family and friends support me without question and encourage me to keep writing what I write. I already feel very, very blessed to have so many amazing readers and to be surrounded by so many loving people in my life. I’m a lucky gal. But I’d be lying if I didn’t say that just once I’d love to see my name on the NYT Bestsellers list.

 

 

 

Q: If there is one thing you would like readers to walk away with after reading the TWD, what you it be?
A: If there is something in life worth holding onto, then hold onto it for dear life.

 

Thank you Everly for taking the time to do the interview and thank you to A Tale Of Many Reviews for hosting this blog tour!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Winemaker’s Dinner Review & Interview

  1. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Very helpful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

