Blog Tour: Breaking Lauren by Jordan dean

 

Goodreads Description:

Seventeen-year-old Danny Cummings’ life is far from a fairytale, but that’s okay since he doesn’t believe in happy endings. After spending a year in juvenile hall for maliciously beating his sister’s boyfriend, Danny embraces his badass image. Spending most nights drinking, fighting and collecting gambling debts for his Uncle, Danny’s life is out of control. His addiction to the bad boy lifestyle won’t let him do anything about it, even with his family begging him to go straight. But, when fifteen-year-old Lauren McIntosh stumbles into one of his nightly escapades, the self-proclaimed anti-romantic can’t concentrate on anything except Lauren and the fact that she’s on the same path his sister was on. Danny knows true love happening for the villain is as common as gamblers paying their debt on time, but he’s never backed away from a challenge before and he hates the idea that history will repeat itself.

Growing old with the man she loves—in the small town where she was born—is the only dream Lauren McIntosh has ever had; that is until her family is practically run out of town amidst rumors of arson and adultery. So, when she meets Danny at her new school and hears the rumors about his activities from her new friends, she wants nothing to do with him or the gossip that seems to follow Danny everywhere. After a dangerous and ill-fated attempt at sneaking out, she develops unwelcomed feelings for Danny that he seems to reciprocate. But, Danny’s unrelenting pursuit makes Lauren nervous, especially since he’s the only one that wants to know the secrets surrounding her family’s move. Lauren can’t tell if Danny’s intentions are true or if he has other plans for their newfound and unlikely friendship. The only way to figure out is to let him in and that could destroy everything, including the popularity and social acceptance she desperately seeks.

What did I think?

When I read the synopsis of this book I thought it would be something that I would enjoy. An angsty boy and a broken girl. I think so! But this book had left me a little wanting.

I’ll start off with Lauren. I initially liked her but the more I read, I couldn’t get a firm connection to her. She seemed to be playing games with not only Danny but other people as well. She was going through some rough emotions with regards to her family. I understand that as I’ve gone through some tough times as well. I just couldn’t get a firm reading on her and where her intentions really were. I still liked her and I thought she was a really sweet girl.

Now….Danny. I really did feel a connection with him. Even though he was pretty volatile and drunk a lot of the time. I really liked the fact that he wanted to be better. He wanted to be good. He knew this wasn’t what he was made for. When he sees the innocence in Lauren, he is addicted. I like Danny. A lot. I love me some broken boys that make you want to hug them and make all the bad go away. But Danny was a good boy at heart just looking for the right track.

Lauren and Danny’s relationship is very dramatical and I felt that a lot of things were left open. I wanted to know more about what made Danny this way. What really happened between Lauren’s parents. The story was really good. I just had more questions than answers.

Overall I thought is was an okay read. You can see a five star review HERE.

Favorite Quote:

From Danny: “I can’t fell anything. It’s easier not to care and have no one care about me. This can’t be about feelings; feelings get in the way and screw your life up more.

 

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Breaking Lauren by Jordan dean

  1. I almost signed up for this tour. Kinda glad I didn’t now. Bummer. Tour books have been a strike out lately.

    Oh, and here is a song..

    *Doot Doot Doot.. My Vagina goes.. WooT… when I stick a big juicy cock up in my Coot Coot CooooooT. *

    Takes a Bow

Leave a Reply

