Frisky Fall Saturday 9/8/12: Beauty & The Feast

Summer is over, but just because the temperature is dropping, doesn’t mean we have to stop reading scorching hot books! Frisky Fall Saturdays is  our new weekly post created by The Autumn Review, The Bookish Babe, Hackaroo’s Reviews, and Sim-Sational-Books. Feel free to join in. (let us know so we can add a link to your post that week) As those leaves start piling up in the yard, ignore them and pick up a sexy book and tell us about it!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~NOT FOR THE UNDER 18!!!~*~*~*~*~*~*~

This week I am reviewing:

Goodreads Description:

Eva Raines is an uncomplicated country girl who’s all about food. Eva moves to the Napa Valley where her culinary skills come to the attention of the owners of a start-up, All Things to All People, and Eva finds her niche as a personal chef. Now all she needs is a man as perfect as her cooking, but she has serious doubts that such a creature exists.

When wealthy entrepreneur, winery owner, and noted Lothario, Gabriel Abbott, makes plans to seduce his flavor of the month, his assistant hires All Things to All People to cater a gourmet dinner. Eva expects to use her way with food to showcase the startup. What she unexpectedly discovers is that her culinary skills showcase far more.

Once Gabriel finds himself seduced by Eva’s voice, and the sensual flavors and textures of her food, his previous plans are quickly forgotten. He begins to obsess about meeting his little chef in person. But when Eva and Gabe finally come face to face, the question is, how hot will their fire burn?

What did I think?

I picked this up because it looked to cute to me. Plus, it says “romantic comedy” right on the cover. I’m all for some comedic romance. Always. I also thought that the cover was pretty suggestive so this will be hot.

Eva is a personal chef that works for a company called All Things To All People. She co-runs this company with her to gay friends Tom and Marcus (whom I love btw). She goes to peoples’ houses and cooks for them and sometimes cleans. She loves her job. She’s great at it too.

I thought Eva was really quite adorable. She doesn’t take crap, stands up for herself and is extremely competent. Not to mention that her food sounds freaking fantastic. I connected with her right away.

Gabriel is a self-made millionaire who loves to help those who need help. He runs a foundation that he started because he grew up in the slums trying to take care of his mom and sister. Now he has the ability to try and stop that from happening to someone else. He also has a very successful winery in Napa.

Gabriel is an extremely likeable character. He wasn’t that hot on my scale but he was up there. I think what made him more attractive was his personality. I kept waiting for the inevitable screw up that the man does in these kinds of books to push the girl away and then go after her. It didn’t happen. It was a nice change.

I liked the fact that when Gabriel’s assistant hires Eva’s company to cook for him, he and Eva have a connection over the phone. It was something about the voice to both of them. I thought it was cute. Then when they finally meet each other (and Gabriel eats the erotic food Eva makes), sparks fly.

Then onward we go into a spicy romance.

Their relationship seemed really cute and realistic to me than most that you read in this genre. Don’t get me wrong, there were cheesy lines galore and a few that made me chuckle. But it was nice to see a relationship that had realistic characteristics.

Now….the sex….there wasn’t too much mention of their sexual escapades in this. I was sort of disappointed what with the cover and title and all. But the sex that was there was pretty steamy. Their first “encounter” at her apartment is probably the hottest and my most favorite.

Overall, this was a cute, easy read. I would say it was more romance than comedy. The ending was kind of….off for me. But I absolutely loved when Eva went off and stood up for herself. So awesome. I did a fist pump in the air.

Quote:

(This is a gem) “Well,” replied Gabe, his mouth against her ear, “Try to look at it this way, absence makes the c**k grow harder.” <—I LOL’ed at that one

3 thoughts on “Frisky Fall Saturday 9/8/12: Beauty & The Feast

Leave a Reply

