Review: Deity by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Goodreads Description:

“History is on repeat, and things didn’t go so well the last time. ”

Alexandria isn’t sure she’s going to make it to her eighteenth birthday–to her Awakening. A long-forgotten, fanatical order is out to kill her, and if the Council ever discovers what she did in the Catskills, she’s a goner… and so is Aiden.

If that’s not freaky enough, whenever Alex and Seth spend time “training”–which really is just Seth’s code word for some up-close and personal one-on-one time–she ends up with another mark of the Apollyon, which brings her one step closer to Awakening ahead of schedule. Awesome.

But as her birthday draws near, her entire world shatters with a startling revelation and she’s caught between love and Fate. One will do anything to protect her. One has been lying to her since the beginning. Once the gods have revealed themselves, unleashing their wrath, lives will be irrevocably changed… and destroyed.

Those left standing will discover if love is truly greater than Fate…

Why did I read this?

I’ve read every once of Jennifer L. Armentrout’s books since the first Covenant novel. I am in love with her writing and characters. Each book I read just gets better and better. I couldn’t wait for Deity to come out.

What did I think?

Oh. My. GOODNESS!! Soooooo much happened in Pure I wasn’t sure what Armentrout had up her sleeve for this. Boy was I enthralled. Seriously.

Deity was a non-stop action packed book. This picked up right after Pure and does not stop. Every book just gets better and better and I will tell you that I read this book in one day. I could not stop myself.

So many surprises and come into play in this book and because I don’t want to be a spoiler, I can’t say too many things about it…yet.

Jennifer L. Armentrout never ceases to amaze me with the world, characters, and stories she builds, that nothing penetrates my brain while I read her books. This was no exception at all. This has to be the top Covenant book yet. I have no idea what to expect in Apollyon but I know for sure it will be one wild ride based on the cliffhanger ending in Deity.

Alex is constantly growing and I love seeing that.She is as strong and passionate as ever with her snarky attitude. She is going through changes with becoming the next Apollyon and doesn’t know how to handle it. But she’s dealing with it and everything else much better than I probably would. That’s why I love her and will always love her.

I’m still Team Aiden and both Team Seth and Team Aiden will get buckets of surprises throughout this book. I can’t divulge any info because it JUST came out and people probably haven’t gotten it yet.

All I can say is that you need to pick this up and read it immediately. Get on it!

This is still one of my favorite series and will be for a long time coming. Can it please be spring 2013 yet so I can get my next covenant fix? I’m addicted and I’m already having withdrawls. 😉

Favorite Quotes:

Aiden shifted slightly and his thumb caresses the curve of my cheek. “I’m afraid of something.”

“What?” I whispered.

He drew in a deep, shuddering breath. “I’m afraid of never being allowed to feel what I do.”

“Are you okay?” Aiden asked Deacon.

He nodded slowly. “Yeah, I’m great. Nothing like witnessing a death match between gods when I’m trying to get some cheetos.”

Leave a Reply

