The Wild One by M. Leighton Blog Tour Stop

 

 

Welcome to my stop on The Wild Ones blog tour!

I have an interview with the author that I am honored to show here on my blog! But first, here is a little about the book:

Goodreads Description:

**MATURE CONTENT ADVISORY: May not be suitable for younger readers**

Passion as hot as midnight in the South and love as wild as the horses they tame.

Camille “Cami” Hines is the darling daughter of the South’s champion thoroughbred breeder, Jack Hines. She has a pedigree that rivals some of her father’s best horses. Other than feeling a little suffocated at times, Cami thought she was pretty happy with her boyfriend, her life and her future.

But that was before she met Patrick Henley.

“Trick” blurs the lines between what Cami wants and what is expected of her. He’s considered the “help,” which is forbidden fruit as far as her father is concerned, not to mention that Trick would be fired if he ever laid a hand on her. And Trick needs his job. Desperately. His family depends on him.

The heart wants what the heart wants, though, and Trick and Cami are drawn to each other despite the obstacles. At least the ones they know of.

When Trick stumbles upon a note from his father, it triggers a series of revelations that could ruin what he and Cami have worked so hard to overcome. It turns out there’s more to Trick’s presence at the ranch than either of them knew, secrets that could tear them apart.

A little about Michelle :

I was born and raised in the United States, and I’ve lived in several of the fabulous fifty. Though I currently live in the deep South, I spent much of my childhood up North and hope to return there one day. A few other things about me: I believe that sometimes you have to look really, REALLY hard to find the good in people, but it’s there. I believe that I’m shrinking (I swear five years ago I was two inches taller). I believe my husband is quite possibly one of the most amazing men in the entire world (I can’t be sure because I haven’t met all of them). I believe coffee and chocolate, when combined, could be the basis for world peace. I believe that Jesus rocks and communism doesn’t. I believe that white makes me look fat and black collects lint. I believe summer’s too hot, winter’s too cold and fall was made for football. I like dogs better than cats and the first movie in a trilogy is invariably the best. But most of all, I believe that love conquers all.

And now for the interview:

  • What inspired you to write TWO? 

It all began with Trick. His name, his personality.  He came first and the rest of the story erupted around him.  The horse aspect of it seemed to fit with his Southerness, and was further solidified by two songs.  Wild Horses by The Sundays and Wild One by Flo Rida.  Trick seemed to tease me at every step for days and days until I gave him his story.  And I’m so glad I did.

  • What were the challenges while writing this book?

There was a lot to learn about horses—wild horses, thoroughbred horses, horse racing, horse training.  I’ve never researched a book like I did this one.  But I wanted to be fair to Trick and Cami and to the world they live in, so I threw myself into finding out what their lives would be like.  To me, it made them all the more real in my mind.

Also, the book is written in a completely different manner for me.  I completely let go of every preconceived notion I’d ever had about writing (which wasn’t a whole lot since I’ve only been at it for 2 years) and I wrote straight from the heart.  I didn’t focus on the proper way to say things; I wrote them just like a Southern person thinks them.  I didn’t focus on one person or aspect; I gave Trick and Cami equal time.  And I didn’t write in the past tense.  I wrote in the present.  For this book, I was 100% in the here and now.  I was letting go in a way I’d never done before and it just felt right to do it in the moment.

  • What is your favorite scene or was your favorite to write?

I love steamy scenes!  The passionate side of life is what draws me to romance as a genre.  I love it and I look forward to delving into all those crazy feelings and emotions that come with a first kiss and a first touch and a first…everything.  Those are some of the most mesmerizing, captivating times of life and I try to convey that in my books. I want every reader to feel what my characters feel, to enjoy the ride—the rise, the fall, the highs, the lows—with them.

  • Is there anything you would like readers to take away after reading the book they may miss that you want to point out?

Cami wasn’t a virgin.  I’m not sure why so many people assume she was, but she wasn’t.  I never addressed her virginity directly because it was a non-issue.  In the edited version that I did for Berkley, I fixed that.  LOL  There’s also some…extra material that no one has seen yet, so stay tuned for that.

  • When will the second book release and what can you tell us about it?

I don’t have a firm release date for Wild Child, as I just finished it and am still in the editing phase.  I anticipate it will be the first half of 2013.  I will pass along the release date the instant I get it from Berkley.

As for Wild Child itself, it’s the story of Rusty and Jenna.  Probably not like you would expect either, but in a very good way.  They are both firecrackers and it was so nice to give them more depth and explore the dynamic of their relationship.  Loving someone like Jenna is easy as pie in some ways, harder in others.  But Rusty can’t help himself.  I fell very much in love with him while writing this story.  He’s just an awesome guy!  And so, so HOT!  LOL

 

Thanks Michelle for the interview! I always knew you were an awesome chick!!!

Click HERE to check the full tour schedule.

Amazon

One thought on “The Wild One by M. Leighton Blog Tour Stop

  1. How funny, I never got the impression that Cami was a Virgin. I assumed since it wasn’t really addressed that she wasn’t. I think she would have mentioned it hurt a bit if she was, hell it hurt me! My poor vagina was sore for at least 3 days #true story.

    I have my post tomrrow. Finishing up the trailer tonight. I’m such a procrastinator. Late night with a bowl of popcorn at the PC. Don’t mind if I do. lol.

Leave a Reply

